BEST GARDEN PLANTS - MALABAR SPINACH

in #health6 years ago

Hands down, Malabar Spinach is one of the best garden plants that I know of.


While it is not a true Spinach, it is very similar and can be used in the same ways.

Since greens can be tough to grow in the hot summer months, it's excellent to have a healthy choice that won't bolt or get bitter. While it is grown as an annual in many areas, Malabar Spinach is actually a perennial in the tropics and subtropics. With the potential to grow up to thirty feet long, this plant can definitely produce!

In this video, I share about growing it, harvesting it, and using it in the kitchen to make some excellent meals. With many vitamins (like Vitamin A, Thiamine, Riboflavin, and Niacin) and minerals (like Phosphorus, Calcium, Iron, and Potassium) this plant not only grows amazingly well, but it packs a nutritional punch too!

Whether snacking on it raw in the garden, eating it fresh in a salad, sauteing it in a stir fry, or enjoying it in a soup of stew, this is a versatile and delicious plant you should definitely be growing.

MALABAR SPINACH VIDEO

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-malabar-spinach

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


Bitcoin (BTC) - 35jP794XJ1yHUaoxuQUXwGPyCuy6zyiQA5

FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

And you know what I'm going ask. How well will it grow in Wisconsin? You mentioned purslane. I'm looking for wild purslane seeds. I heard the cultivated seeds are for looks not taste.

Spinach Keeps your Eyes Healthy. Spinach and alternative bowery inexperienced veggies square measure high within the antioxidants xanthophyll and carotenoid, that are shown to play a serious role in eye health and therefore the bar of cataracts. Specifically, they assist shield your eyes from the harmful effects of ultraviolet daylight

I agree that is the best vegetable in the garden.

Ah, you like it too, do you?

I will definitely plant this! I love spinach, and you, as well as @mericanhomestead like this same plant! I can't think of a better recommendation!

Thanks for the video!

:)

Brought to you by MSSLA


Malobar Spinach Seed Lobbyists of America

Hehe, That does look like a hearty plant!
My old house had a huge patch of miners lettuce that grew wildly, but that spinach looks like it can really hold up. I had had never heard of it before.
Ya learn something new everyday. :)

This is a vegetable that contains lots of vitamins, how does it taste, is it the same as the taste of spinach.
It seems like this plant I have never seen in my area, although there might be a different name.

Some may call it "ceylon spinach" or "vining spinach" too. It may be in your area. The taste is very good. I almost eat it every day.

Looks like I want to try, what it feels like.

Each day I keep learning, I keep progressing from your lessons. I've not heard about this Malabar spinach before, tho I didn't grow up in the village so I hardly know about this plants and so on.
My pleasure to learn from you

Posted using Partiko Android

I tried eating Malabar spinach @papa-pepper, and still try sometimes ONLY because I am fully aware of its many health benefits, but it has some kind of distinct taste that I don't like. Perhaps because of the way it was cooked (sauteed). Maybe I am also used to cabbages or lettuce that are lighter and copy the taste of the overall dish.

Anyway, Malabar spinach is undeniably good for the body! Gotta find more ways to cook it to make it to my liking. 😀

Excellent plant indeed....I have been enjoying eating off the ones I am growing this year!

Thank you very much for sharing this plant. I will be looking for it in my living area. I want to grow some and taste it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82