Toxic Algae Nationwide

in #health6 years ago


Source: apnews.com

Algae plumes are cropping up throughout the Great Lakes, Chesapeake Bay, the Snake River (Idaho), the Finger Lakes (New York) and in California's Central Valley. The main cause is due to the fertilizer run off from farms. Last year in Florida, the governor declared a state of emergency and closed the beaches when the algae bloom spread from Lake Okeechobee to nearby estuaries. This year the effect to the Gulf of Mexico were the biggest on record. Within the past decade, there has been reported outbreaks in every state.


Source: apnews.com
Aerial view of the St. Lucie River in Florida

The health affects are devastating. Todd Steele was competing in a fishing tournament on Lake Erie. After the competition he was driving home when he felt lightheaded and nauseous. The following morning he was too dizzy to stand and his overheated body was covered with hives. He said 'It attacked my immune system and shut down my body's ability to sweat. If I wasn't a healthy 51 year old and had some type of medical condition, it could have killed me'.

Sea life is also being affected because the rapid growth of algae causes the oxygen levels in the water to deplete. Fish and other marine life in the water die off due to the lack of oxygen.

steem sigil.png

Sort:  

This is a terrible situation. You country, like my own, have invested heavily in fracking. Do you think this may also causing problems within the water table? up-voted and re-steemed.

I didn't even think of fracking being an issue, but you maybe right. Thank you for your insightful comment.

your welcome my friend. It is a huge issue over here in the UK. Our police are basically being employed to make sure the fracking companies interests are looked after. Our local councils are denying fracking applications, due to evidence of pollution, only to see them over-turned by our government. They are forcing this process through without any regard or consideration to the evidence of health risks. Glad I could help. Peace and Love to you and yours.

What a sad state of affairs. I wish you the same. I guess my biggest wish is that we (as a world) solve this rampant abuse of power. Have a good evening.

Me too, its going too far now. Glad there are others willing to stand up and be counted. Take care.

come follow my page bud, think you might like my content.

I'm standing right next to you and glad of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75