Do not Google it

in #health6 years ago (edited)

If our daughter gets over her flu, the MRI is on Tuesday. Until today I have only been hoping that she can get it done so that we would know more. This uncertainty is slowly killing me. But now when we are already close to the date, I started to panic about the things they can find. They have to put her under general anesthetic for the MRI because she is too small to stay still for an hour. That scares me as well.

“MRI can detect a variety of conditions of the brain such as cysts, tumors, bleeding, swelling, developmental and structural abnormalities, infections, inflammatory conditions, or problems with the blood vessels. It can detect damage to the brain caused by an injury or a stroke. MRI of the brain can be useful in evaluating problems such as persistent headaches, dizziness, weakness, and blurry vision or seizures, and it can help to detect certain chronic diseases of the nervous system, such as multiple sclerosis.” Source

So if they find something, what ever it is, it’s not going to be great. I’m telling myself over and over that the MRI will be clean and there is some “normal” reason for all of this. Like her low blood sugar or something similar.

We received a letter from the hospital about the MRI and it said we should talk about the coming anesthesia with the child via play or books a day before. Any tips? How do you explain something like that to an under two-year-old? After those five days in the hospital our daughter has talked about nurses, needles and blood. She keeps repeating “no needles”, “no blood” and looks at her arms. So she still has some fears because of all the tests that they did and now I’m taking her back to the same place, even to the same ward.

I’m trying my very best not to show my fears to her. It seems to be tougher than I thought but so far I’m doing okay or at least okay-ish.

Hugs, Momone

Sort:  

Can't even imagine what are you going through. All the uncertainty, all fears must be so exhausting. All the best wishes to you and your family, you will get through this together. Hugs!

Thank you. <3

Just stay strong. It is not easy but it is for the best. Whatever they find or don't find you all need to know so you can move forward. My daughter had a hole in her heart and they wanted to stop her heart and restart it. We said no and luckily it grew over and she is normal now. Hopefully it is something stupid that can be rectified over time. Just remain positive and it will be fine.

Thank you. Trying my best!

Been reading about whats going on with your baby girl and I dont ever really respond because what are my words gonna do you know?

I think about her quite a bit actually because of all the adorable pics of her in tarazs posts and the fact that something like that would freak me out too.

Thing is she will be fine because she upvotes my posts and has a lot of good karma coming her way :)

Best wishes and keep hanging in there, you will be arguing with her like mad when she turns 16 soon enough lol

Thank you. Hoping to have many arguments with her. :)

Whatever this thing is, it's your enemy and enemies are scary.
So learn everything about it. Drag it from the shadows, face it down in the light of day and attack it with every ounce of strength you have.

Getting ready to attack. Thanks.

That little princess looks like @tarazkp daughter and the story looks exactly the same...

Anyway, sorry about that, I'm sure she will come out of it completely in Jesus name.

Put aside your fear and let your faith be active. Very soon, you are coming to tell us that she's now very much okay......

What a coincidence. ;)
Hoping to get back to you guys with good news. Thank you.

I pray so.... Much love for you and your daughter.

No, googling is a no no for diagnosis. Just believe it's going to be something simple and more often than not it ends up being just that and whatever comes up will be managed.

She needs you guys not to beat yourselves up, to be tough. You guys are great parents and good things will follow.

Explaining it all to her, well does she really need carry the burden of that kind of info at her age? Just tell her that it might suck, but it is just something that must happen.

Thinking of you guys.

Thank you @petesays . I was actually thinking that I won't mention anything to her before we are stepping in to the car on Tuesday morning. She is already scared of the hospital so what good would it do..

Pleasure. True, no need to freak her out more than is needed.

Our thoughts and love are with you and our lovely little niece.

Thank you. And see you soon. <3

You got a 26.52% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @momone!

Think of it this way - till she has the MRI, there are so many potential problems to be afraid of. But hopefully afterwards, you will know and then there will be only one problem to focus on.

Yep. Tomorrow is the big day. I hope we will be wiser after.

Yep. Tomorrow is
The big day. I hope we will
Be wiser after.

                 - momone


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86