Random musings 008: My Meridian Massage

in #health6 years ago (edited)
You have too much Yin and you need to balance it out with your Yang. That was what the doctor said to me. Chinese doctor.


Image Source

Maybe I'm just too westernized, but I wasn't really convinced.

It all started...

When I was scrolling through fave app. It's like an online entertainment booklet where you can occasionally find a list of cheap deals for sale.


Image Source

I found this particular offer which is a 75 min meridian chiropractic therapy under RM50, worth at a price of RM150. I thought it was a killer of a deal and I needed to get myself a Christmas present anyways. So I did! :) Not to mention my neck is killing me from bad posture


Image Source

The massage was good, we started off with a 30 min warm up session where the practitioner placed a few electric nodes behind me. The shock stimulated my muscles to contract artificially. The process continued for 30 minutes with 3 blankets covering me. The purpose of this "warm-up" is so that the body is ready to be "cracked". They needed to heat up the muscles and get you sweating so that there won't be any injuries when they actually crack your bones.

After that, he strategically positions my body and places his knees on my joints and his hands on my shoulder,

"Alright now do not close your mouth and breathe out when you feel the pressure." He said.

Before I could say a word he presses me against the bed. All I could mouth were a few wheezing gasps.

Craaaaaaaackkakakakak.

I could feel the tension release, there was no pain at all.
Guys if the opportunity arrives, try chiropractic it was pretty therapeutic!

"Your shoulder is a bit tense, Your cholesterol might be a bit high."
Alright, guilty as charged. I have been eating a lot of eggs and chicken breast on a daily basis so no surprise there.

He continues to my hips and then my legs.
Make no mistake, it wasn't a gentle massage where he gently pushes your muscles. This guy was legit cracking my neck, to my back to my knees. Felt I needed some readjustments and man! It was good!

Overall it was a pretty relaxing experience!

###BUT Here's where it gets weird.

After that, I was brought into another room where a more aged man was sitting there waiting for me. I put my hand on a hand pillow. He places three fingers right below my wrist. Searching for my arteries and veins.

He reads intently, shuffling from three fingers to two, as if playing a flute with my hands. The Chinese call it reading the "mai" when directly translated.

The proper term would be Traditional Pulse Diagnosis.

A method used from traditional Chinese doctors He moves to the next hand and does the same thing.

Asks me a few questions about my sleeping habits, exercise logs, and eating routine.

" You always sleep under the air conditioner?" Er... no...?
" You always go into an air conditioned room after an exercise..? Errr... no...?
" You seldom exercise?" Er.... no...?
" Do you always sleep late?" Yes... :(

At this point I was beginning to doubt this guy

" You always sleep late?" Yes
" You always drink cold water?" Yes

At this point, he started to gain a little bit more confidence


Image from Giphy

That's when he blurted out a statement which to me sounded like well phrased nonsense.

"You have too much Yin and you need to balance it out with your Yang. That was what the doctor said to me. Chinese doctor. "

You should really take care of your body. Sleep more, drink more water, watch the air conditioning usage and watch your chi. You are still young now and your body can handle the damages, but give yourself 5 years and you might experience more chronic pain in your body.

Don't get me wrong, I believe in Traditional Chinese Medicinal efforts, but you mean to tell me you were able to fortune tell my fate of my health within ten minutes of finger dancing on my wrist?

Maybe i'm too pragmatic, but I'm going to need more facts than that xD


Image from Giphy

But I wasn't convinced, that diagnostic was a bit too general in my opinion.


What do you think? Believable source?


With all due respect at the end of the day, it serves as a reminder to me I guess;

That you can never take your health for granted. Reminder at the end of the day from the meridian therapy treatment

  1. Get enough sleep. (You can gym for 6 days a week and see no results if you don't get enough rest )

  2. Drink more water (always get yourself hydrated to prevent yourself from risks like, kidney stones, and other health risks)

  3. Practice good posture! (You wouldn't need chiropractic adjustments if you did it right in the first place!)

  4. Eat right, everything in moderation I guess, that includes food that boosts your cholesterol levels, sugar levels, etc.

At the end of the day, I'd still take his advise, just that his diagnostics won't raise any red flags. I'll just take it with a pinch of salt. Just like how we all do with what we see on the internet these days ;)


Random Musings 007: Radiate Penang 2018 pt2
Random Musings 006: Radiate Penang 2018 pt1
Random Musings 005: Radiate Intro



steem-music


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Congratulations @maxyong! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

hahahaha! quite a detailed post. why let an aged man touch you leh :p

Hahahah! not really my preference but... It will have to do... There's a first for everything ;)

I have been astonished at the benefits I receive from Oriental Medicine. I would go to any practitioner I trust more readily than to any Western doctor. The important part of that sentence of course is ... a practitioner I trust. As with any profession there are good ones and bad ones -- and mediocre ones.

At least pay a little attention to what this guy says until you've proven it to yourself one way or another. I used to be a skeptic about all this stuff. No longer. Just sayin'.

The-STEEM-Engine

I agree :), I actually do believe that there are many benefits to Oriental Medicine, I'm not that convinced at this one cause he didn't seem too confident of what he was doing. I went to a few pretty bad ones that made a few of my pre-existing injuries worse, but I've also witnessed tremendous recovery from friends and family through such practices.

But you're right, key word is to find a well recognized practitioner. I've heard many Olympic Athletes use Oriental/ Traditional Medicine too! :)

I could have given you that advice free of charge! I wouldn't have been able to do the joint cracking though.

I know right! The advise given was so general... but then again... common knowledge is sometimes not so common xD

A very nice work up, if he said your cholesterol is a little bit up, that may be something to get checked.

I can also give you an advice for pasture problems, take in consideration I write almost the whole day and have no back problems whatsoever... Get not a good, but great chair, keep your feet a bit elevated with a small chair or whatever so that your weight doesn't squash your leg muscles and by all means the writing surface has to be as close to your lap as possible, which means you have to elevate a chair up to the table. I even saw off side panel of my writing table to get so high, and it is perrrrrrfect. Take care and stay well.

Thanks! These look like well researched advise!! :)

Congratulations @maxyong! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @maxyong! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @maxyong! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59214.59
ETH 2524.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48