I'm Getting My Baby Vaccinated. Leave Me Alone Anti-Vaccine People.

in #health7 years ago

I'm getting my daughter vaccinated. She's already gotten the first sets of shots she will have in her life and she will continue to get them. Apparently in the eyes of some people that makes me a bad mother.

Okay anti-vaccine people. Time to leave me alone. The decision has been made.

flu-shot-1719334_640.jpg

It's very interesting how many people have come up to me now that I have a baby and have tried to freak me out about getting her vaccinated.

Every time my baby gets sick the first thing I hear is "did you get her vaccinated" with a scowl on the face of the person saying it thinking she's had a bad reaction. Or when my daughter developed eczema around 6 months old, automatically people I know who are anti-vaccine are like "oh it's the vaccines" trying to explain every little thing by putting the blame on the shots.

I'm really tired of it. I'm tired of people butting in and telling me all this research they're read on the internet is true and trying to convince me vaccines are evil. I don't care. I did my research before getting her that first set of shots. If I were truly afraid they would hurt her I wouldn't have done it. I've read plenty of stories of things going wrong but based on my own research I felt going ahead with the shots was the best thing. Not having her vaccines could hurt her as she grows older. It's a law she has to have them to go to school and college.

My daughter would lose her health insurance if we didn't get her shots. No one in my family has had autism or any mental/physical disabilities. I feel there is a low risk getting her vaccinated based on family history. My daughter's health insurance is necessary and I'm not going to risk losing it over what some guy my husband went to high school read on some other guy's blog on the internet.

nurse-296505_640.png

Right now my husband is on the phone with some person he hasn't talked to in over 20 years he went to high school with.

They reconnected through social media. Randomly the guy asked my husband to call him and all they have talked about is anti-vaccine stuff. So you haven't talked to this guy in 20 years and you only want to call him to freak him out about your take on vaccines? I've found myself getting angrier and angrier as I listen to the conversation. This person I've never met is giving me advice on how to take care of my kid. I don't appreciate that.

doctor-673578_640.jpg

I do understand the fears of vaccines.

I do believe that kids get a lot more shots today and I do think that there are links to autism, diabetes, and more health problems because of vaccines. That being said I choose to get my daughter her shots. Have I been terrified each time that something would go wrong? Yes. But nothing has gone wrong and I believe that her getting them is for the best.

My decision as a parent should be respected and people who disagree should leave me alone instead of continuing to pile on the research they've done to prove me wrong. Many of those same people I know harassing me have gotten their children their shots and they are perfectly fine. If your own kids are healthy after getting shots then why are you freaking out about my kid you've never met getting her shots?

Sorry for the rant folks.

I've had so many people force their parenting advice on me that tonight my temper finally broke.

I would never do anything that would harm my daughter. If I'm smart enough to go to college to get a doctorate then I'm smart enough to make educated decisions on how to raise my daughter in the best way possible.


Follow Me Update.jpg

Sort:  

It sounds like you are doing the most important job in the world...being a parent. As parents we must make tough decisions and oddly enough deciding how we will protect our children has become a social decision instead of a private one. I support your decision to be a parent and to protect your children the way you see fit.

Thank you. It's an interesting debate the for and against vaccines topic. Both sides feel they are protecting kids and you can be seen as a bad parent based on both arguments. Thanks for the support.

As parents we make the decisions that are right for us and our family. The nature of a parent is to protect and do what is best for their children. To chastise someone for vaccinating an infant means you don't respect another person's view point. Do you really want to be friends with that person?

--IceBurst

Very good point. U might light like my reply .

That's exactly how I feel. It isn't respectful to make another parent feel bad for a parenting choice they make when you disagree. At least I'm not friends with the person who annoyed me tonight. My husband is but thankfully I never have to deal with them personally. Thank you for the good comment by the way.

It should work both ways - in my opinion - however it does not

can anyone explain what Gates is talking about from minute 2:40 down

Loading...

The vaccinations are as safe as they can be made.

Like anything there will be bad batches - just like burgers.

Like anything some people will have a bad reaction - just like burgers.

You are the mother. You get to make the decisions. If other people want to make the decisions, tell them to get their own kids to experiment on.

Vaccines are part of the solution, not part of the problem.

Yes you hear stories of when things go wrong - but you never hear of all the kids that didn't get polio because they were vaccinated against it.

You do what you think is right, and the hell with everyone else. ;-)

I do agree. My husband also made the argument about bad batches. And yes...to hell with everyone else. I'll choose what is right for my family and ignore everyone else. Thanks for taking the time to make a nice comment.

No problem. everyone is an expert when it comes to raising your kids.

It makes them feel better about the mistakes they made raising their own kids ;-)

Your kids are your own experiment. you can screw their lives up however you want to. that's why you had them in the first place hehehe (and to wash the dishes)

My only real advice is do your research, make your decisions based on what information you have, what you feel is right. Back yourself and accept whatever comes your way.

And remember, kids will do what kids will do. They will surprise you more often than not. But mostly, they bounce, they heal, they cry and then they laugh, and then they're off onto the next thing.

The people telling you how to raise your kids never seem to be there when you or your kids need help and actually give you some help. they just snipe from the sidelines,

So their opinions are worth what?

wise move

Thank you. I think it's the best decision.

I will vax my kids too. I do acknowledge people's fears of vaccinations and it seems there is some compelling evidence to go along with them.

So if vaccinations cause autism the chance is still incredibly small compared the most likely case of something the vax will prevent.

If anyone asks about it just say "Oh you know it's such a controversial topic I'd rather not discuss it."

I don't know what it's like to parent a child with or without vaccinations but if I didn't get them their shots would I need to keep them in a bubble of purity?

The evidence against vaccines can be so scary and like you I acknowledge other's fears. I think my fears not getting my daughter her shots are greater than not. I can't name all the times I've had to produce my shot records when starting new jobs, college, and more. These days it's the law and not having them can hurt you.

I didn't realize it was law. Now that's scary because now the gov is telling you what to do. Certainly seems like the right choice if it can effect future job prospects.

It's also the law about whether or not your kid can attend school or camp or other programs at all in most districts now. This post is the first I heard of it for jobs. I sure have never showed mine. I still have it - not updated for the ### shots I've had since childhood.

I'm an anti-vaccer! But I can't get vaccinations because I don't have a properly functioning immune system and vaccinations are more likely to make me sick or have no benefits at all.

I also believe in testing immune systems before vaccinating. Aside from that, I'm all for herd immunity.

(If it makes you feel any better, I have an autistic friend with two autistic children that is constantly fighting against the anti-vaccers because she just wants them to shut up and get their science sight.)

Good for you!

Oh so they did some research on the internet, well we must bow to their superior knowledge then.
They surely must know much more than the entire global medical profession that spent accumulated milennia studying the cause and effects of all kinds of diseases.
A search on the internet is as close to proof as I need /s

I'm searching for parents who are in the trenches with it. I'm using the cdc site. I'm suggesting you read the package inserts of the shots, keep them and take photos of the batches and lot numbers based on the experience of others who have needed that information when the worst happened. I suggest these things based on what parents have gone through before you.

The "scientists" are paid by the same people making the drugs and are faking results and being caught at it. The people with opposing viewpoints do not get funding and are driven out of the field. so no - I would not blindly trust them.

I so not normally look at this issue since my son is grown and I have no grandchildren. But I do work in weight loss, autoimmune disease, and ptsd on the regular. The lies , poisons, and bad "mainstream" advice in those areas are hurting people badly.

The best tips I get are from people in groups who have the troubles and work on them alone and on the internet. When you develop a chronic illness - they people you love and rely on will disappear. No one wants to be around sick people so the internet is a good source of help for many.

I'm with you on this one. Maybe my kids wouldn't have survived to this point already without their vaccinations. Maybe I wouldn't have...

I do think they are good for somethings like the vaccines for smallpox and polio. Some I think are good but I do agree kids probably get some vaccines today they didn't get in the past that correlate to things like autism.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66