Click

in #health5 years ago


Over a year ago while I was lying in the bed sick as a dog with a high fever, stumbling around the internet and researching the martial arts best suitable for women (the idea of learning something like that always seemed appealing, however I never really had a chance), I found something that just clicked.

“Make time for fitness or make time for getting sick, make time for disease, make time for getting old.” - Firas Zahabi

Zahabi is a martial artist and coach at Tristar Gym that is one of MMA training camps for many UFC fighters. It was the video “How to Program your Mind for Fitness - The Power of Creating Momentum” in which he explains in great clarity his philosophy about how to stay fit for life.

In my mind I simplified the quote into make time for fitness or make time for sickness. Easy to remember and it rimes. Maybe it was me being sick at the same time I made this discovery, however it deeply resonated with how I felt about my health degrading and the topic of aging in general.

It was only a while later I actually managed to break through the destructive habits and nine hour, stressful, sitting office job excuses and began taking care of my fitness and well-being. I created a habit of running every day and later running regularly with some resting days.

To track my progress I chose to run at the football field. The beginning was really slow and pathetic. Running few laps was challenging. It did not matter how pathetic it seemed. It was about minimal effective dose of moving, getting the blood pumping through the system, about breathing fresh air. It was about creating the habit and the momentum while not exhausting myself to a point I wouldn’t want to go back the next day and the next day after that and so on.

Though there was a lot of progress, it was not ideal. Bodies are not always perfectly balanced. Before starting I had issues with my knees. I thought that some grannies probably have better knees than I do and after a while into my running either I hurt my right hip or it just began hurting after I pushed myself harder. Perhaps it was the hip to begin with which caused the knee issues.

Right now I’ve been on a longer break from running. I find myself being sick again. Despite that  the hip is not hurting and the condition of my left knee seems to have improved which gives me hope that soon I can go back to recreating the habit of running regularly again and hopefully correcting the balance issues that I might have.  


Song of the day: Major Lazer, Amber Coffman, Andy C - Get Free Andy C Remix

Sort:  

Interesting post. I am currently healing up from a hip arthroscopy. I had similar issues and could not run because of a balance problem. You may very well be correct that your issue is actually associated with your hip. Before you start running again you may want to go check with an orthopedic surgeon and have him/her x-ray your hip. My problem was I was born with extra bone growth in my hip which caused a labral tear. My femoral head was also off position so it needed to be shaved as well as the bone growth on the hip. That may not be your issue, but it would be good to check out the internal workings. I was starting to get arthritis in the right hip. I'm on my healing road now, and I hope to be able to run again within a few months. but I can already tell a difference one month out. Take care and feel better soon!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for stopping by @wandrnrose7! I really hope your recovery goes well and you will be up and running soon! ^^

Thank you also for sharing your story and recommendations. I hope I get to check up on that soon. I just recently moved to another country so I will have to see my options here, meanwhile I am working on some hip strengthening exercises. Perhaps that improves things too.

totally agree with what you have written here. I think it is very easy to fall out of the "fitness way of life" and i know from personal experience as i was a star athlete in high-school and college and about 2 years ago found myself at nearly 230 lbs and well believe it or not it was FB with one of those "this is YOU from 4 years ago" pictures that brought to my attention how far down a bad road I had gone.

Now i honestly believe the hardest part about going to the gym, is going to the gym. Once you are there, it is easy.

However, my own father ran marathons well into his 50's and now has horrible knee and joint problems, i too experience this from running and well, i suppose part of it might be genetic. These days i use one of the elliptical machines or if possible I swim (prefer the last one... no sweating!) I hope you can maintain your goals, it does feel good to feel better, and well, look better too.

beautiful

Thank you. It is the lake from back home. My peaceful haven :)

you're very lucky

Very interesting that topic of programming the mind to be in shape ... I will try to see it, my internet at this moment is extremely slow. I hope you get better so that you keep working on keeping fit ... These are necessary activities for our brain to release hormones that keep you full of life and joy. Take care :)

I really hope you get to see the video, it is definitely worth the time I would say.

Thank you so much @blessed-girl! For a moment there I was really scared that I've done a permanent damage to my knees. I've been taking some supplements, vitamins and trying to eat more foods that could help my overall health too, so maybe it was all worth it.

It feels great to be able to run and move at the full capacity and you are absolutely right about the hormones :)

That's good, the vitamin supplements and cartilage capsules ... I do not know if they sell them in your country, they're good for knee problems ... I have an exercise machine, and every day I say I'm going to use it and I'm losing time and I do not ... and I promised that Monday would start ... I hope to achieve it hahaha.

I hope it works out this time hehe

I remember how difficult it was to start. I just told myself. It doesn't matter what hour (no specific time to start or go out of the house), but when it is running time, I just gear up and it is the fing running time alright :D Every day. Maybe for like an hour, just one hour for my own body.

We spend so much time on useless stuff, so one hour is nothing and it is helping you to stay healthy or to improve your condition and yet sometimes it seems so difficult. It is all in our minds. Minds need conditioning too.

Well, it costs me a little because I have a 2 year old girl who absorbs me a lot, it is very very very energetic, hahaha I think that with her I do enough exercise hahaha every day I go to bed exhausted. Right now I am going to prepare her to fall asleep and yet she is running around the house !!!
good night... get well

I have let myself get well and truly out of rhythm the last year or two and I have to do a complete rebuild. I am hoping that once the new position starts, I will find the drive to create a different set of habits.

I really wish you best of luck Taraz and hope you find a way to create those different set of habits that will hopefully improve your life :)

I wish people would never take their health for granted. It is easy to say oh, but I don't want to just do all this healthy stuff, I want to live a little at the same time it so easy to fuck it up permanently and then to really struggle even with the most basic tasks for the rest of the life :/

Hi @m31!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.296 which ranks you at #732 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 737).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 215 contributions, your post is ranked at #20.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 51.23% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @m31!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11