You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can the GAPS (Gut and Psychology Syndrome) Diet help those with Autism?

in #health8 years ago (edited)

My sister showed me this thing about a month ago, I haven't followed up with her to see how she's going (and I keep bugging her to join Steem, she has a trailerload of great artwork she could post, and poetry). But it was funny to hear the basic premise of it... nearly, and more or less, a low or zero carb diet. She has rheumatoid arthritis. I hope it's helping, because she is crippled by it. She spent some years addicted to oxycodone because of the pain.

I have been following it mostly, except I have potato fairly regularly, and it's certainly helping my mind function. Oh yeah, and I keep drinking these damned energy drinks .>_<. And beer... Well, it's not as bad anyway, malts are not as bad as high glucose starches or dual-ring sugars. But I'm sure once that I get fully on the diet, when I have a bit more money happening for a broader variety...

I actually went full ketogenic diet for a little while. I think it helped, too. I didn't lose any weight, and I was not feeling hungry most of the day. I was consuming quite a lot of pig fat. I am now mostly with butter, but I really wish I could find bovine fat, it tastes quite a bit better. Fat is a far better source of energy than carbs.

Sort:  

As I said above, I'll probably do two more posts. The next one (hopefully later today) explaining the foods that are excluded and why. Then the next on the foods to eat and why.
For your sister, is she cutting out all nightshades as well? Although only potato is excluded from GAPS, I recommend cutting out nightshades as well (at least as a trial) for rheumatoid arthritis.
It can be done as low / zero carb, and for those that suit that way of eating it works well. But it doesn't have to be. It is specific carbs that are excluded, but others reading your comment won't understand yet what you know - that the simple sugars can be digested, so ripe fruit and honey are allowed. Plus certain root veges.
Thanks for commenting.

My sister explained all this to me, yes, it's not a ketogenic diet, it's specific types of carbs. I haven't heard from her in a while, she is in the midst of the ending of a relationship and her life is probably quite topsy-turvy at the moment. She has been a student of nutrition for a long time, she may already know about solanacaea.

I did a stint in prison and the diet was completely wrong for me, and caused me to get the worst bronchoconstriction I have ever experienced in my life. With all the time in the world available to do testing, I elimination tested every bit of food I was given, and I discovered that the only food on the menu that did not make the allergy happen was meat and apples. Alliums, Solanacae, Melon fruits, Wheat, Dairy.

I thought we might be starting to nest too deep, so replied to an old post of yours. I ate all animal foods for a year, but needed to come off it to give my adrenals a bit of a boost. I'm now sleeping much better with a few carbs, but would like to go back to mostly animal foods, maybe keto, and intermittent fasting too. I'd prob eat twice a day.
You can get heaps of animal fats by collecting it from your own roasts. If I do a duck, i get nearly a 500ml jar of fat.

Gosh, that's tough. The good news about that, though you wouldn't have known at the time, is that you can eat just meat for extended periods of time, and still meet all your nutritional needs. It's not easy to do psychologically, and I don't imagine there was enough available, though.

I forgot to say - as a result of what i learned, I petitioned to go see doctors and begged for a diet change. No dice. So the solution ended up being taking an antihistamine called 'chlorpyramine' which stopped the wheat allergy reaction in my lungs. It extended what I could eat but I still had to leave out almost everything else.

I did already know :) I didn't know about the GAPS theory before but I knew well enough about much of my allergy and neurological problems and diet, I hadn't heard of the ketogenic diet - and I want to ultimately switch to it fully, because I get a lot more energy out of fats than carbs anyway. For maybe a bit over a month I was on this diet and I ate once a day and never felt hungry. I still eat things like green peas and carrots, but that's about it for carbs. It can be difficult to find sources for fats in my local marketplace, but I'm pretty sure that I can buy buckets of dripping from somewhere for cheap. I've never tried sheep dripping, actually, that is probably readily available here. I would love to find a source for an unrefined animal fat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14