Starting my new workout!

in #health6 years ago

Hey guys and gals! In my New Year's Resolution post and I mentioned wanting to start a new workout that would allow for me to put up some bigger numbers on the compound lifts. To get this done, I'm going to be starting the StrongLift 5x5 Workout. As much as it pains me to put up "before" pictures, I do plan on putting some up this weekend and outlining each of my workouts and the numbers that I'm hitting. While I'll eventually include a nutrition plan that I'm following, I won't be posting each meal... unless of course I get a large enough following that asks for it.

Big Picture Overview


Alright, so basically this entire workout plan boils down to 3 things:

  • 2 Different workouts
  • 3 Times per week
  • Adding 5 lbs each workout

The Workouts


There are two different workouts that we'll be following, which we alternate each time.

Workout A: Squat (5x5), Bench Press (5x5), Barbell Row (5x5)
Workout B: Squat (5x5), Overhead Press (5x5), Deadlift (1x5)

That's it. Only two workouts with 3 exercises a piece. Easy Peasy.

Frequency of the Workouts


This particular plan only calls for working out 3 times per week, with at least 1 day rest in between workouts. I, however, will be doing supplemental workouts that will include mobility drills, yoga, HIIT workouts, long runs, and whatever other miscellaneous workouts I come up with on my "off" days.

So if you're planning on following along with me and my effort to gain strength, a typical workout could be as follows:

Week 1
Mon: Workout A
Wed: Workout B
Frid : Workout A

Week 2
Mon: Workout B
Wed: Workout A
Frid : Workout B

Progressing through the Workouts


When you first start these workouts, it's going to seem very easy, because (depending on your experience leve) we're starting with only 50ish% of our 5 rep max.

From there, we're going to add 5 lbs on each exercise, each workout; with the exception of deadlift, which we'll add 10 lbs each workout.

As an example:
Monday we complete the following:

  • Squat 5x5 at 100#
  • Bench Press 5x5 at 45#
  • Barbell Row 5x5 at 45#

Wednesday

  • Squat 5x5 at 105#
  • Overhead Press 5x5 at 45#
  • Deadlift 1x5 at 135#

Friday

  • Squat 5x5 at 110#
  • Bench Press 5x5 at 50#
  • Barbell Row 5x5 at 50#

Monday

  • Squat 5x5 at 115#
  • Overhead Press 5x5 at 50#
  • Deadlift 1x5 at 145#

So there ya have it! A simple, yet effective workout that I'll be using to work towards my goals.

Hope you guys enjoyed it!



Fitness | Nutrition | Pro 2A | Dog Lover | Motorcycles | Crypto

Sort:  

I took a peek at your goals post, we're in a similar place in terms of goals ;) (although I'm a bit farther in my journey than you).

SS is a great program for beginners, but to hit your goals you will need to move to an intermediate program once you stop being able to add 5# a workout.

I plan on posting some updates and advice on my progress once a week or so, hopefully I'll have some good pointers for you in there.

https://steemit.com/weightlifting/@cygon/gym-goals-for-2018

Very similar goals! We're pretty similar in weight/height too (6' @ 185-190lbs)... so it looks like you're edging me out in the summer body category lol.

I (regrettably) took some before photos over the weekend. Initially I was planning on throwing them up on Sunday, but I thought it through and decided that it would be best to post it with a 2nd picture for comparative purposes. Sort of like a mini series of before/after photos lol.

I also followed ya so I can stay up to date on your progress. With us being so close in goals, and you edging me out currently in both physique and weight lifting, you'll give me a good bench mark for my progress.

Yeah, if I manage to unfuck my lower back soon I'll hopefully get there by June. Let me be a cautionary tale to never slack on your deadlift form, lol. Hopefully I can help you learn from my mistakes and give some helpful tips from a bit down the road.

You look pretty fit already! Pushing you're self past previous boundaries is what it's all about, and your new work out looks like it will help in a great way. Happy new years and here's to more improvements in 2018!:)

That's what it's all about, pushing so we can be the best version of ourselves!

Though it should be noted that the guy in the picture is not me lol. However, I did do a write up on my previous transformation that can be found in the link in my bio on my main page, and that does include before/after pictures :)

Good sir for wrtting goods post about health fitness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27