Don't Be Scarred!

in #health7 years ago

How to Treat Painful Reef Rash/ Sunburn/Cuts/Bruises/Bug Bites and Prevent Scars

I've Been Extremely Blessed To Have Spent The Month of May 2016 On The Beautifully Exotic French Polynesian Island, Tahiti

13235321_10207858202550675_2182251322143338537_o.jpg

This post was written in June of 2016 as my trip to Tahiti was coming to a close.

It's come to that part of the trip when I'm able to look back at all that I've experienced and I realized just how appropriate the timing is for me to be writing on this topic. I've encountered many situations (I mean injuries) that required essential oils.

Here is the list of how I used my oils during this 5 week adventure:

Sunburn
Mosquito Bites
Reef Rash
Poisonous Centipede Bite
Stone Fish Injury
Although these seemed far less important after the above mentioned situations, I also still used this oil for:

Hydrating Hair After Sun, Wind & Salt Water Exposure
Facial Moisturizer

In early May, while packing for this trip I knew that at the very least I would need a mix of oils that would work for my face, hair, and treating sunburn. I decided to combine avocado and castor oil with jojoba, jasmine, chamomile, lavender and a lot of frankincense.
mylilfriend.png
My Own Work of Art

Oh how little did I know just how valuable this 5 oz bottle of miracles would prove to be for me during this trip.

For the past 5 weeks, I've explored the clear blue ocean, and hiked through the dense green jungles. I spent many days mesmerized by the energy of the fierce waves forming beautiful barrels that crashed down with a thunderous roar. I swam in the warm, flawlessly clear water to the coral reef below that was teeming with the most colorful fish I've ever seen.

tea2.jpg
Photo Credit

I also had a nearly blistering sunburn... twice, so I put the oils on it. And when I had literally hundreds of mosquito bites in one day, I put the oils on them.
My sunburn subsided much faster than it would have normally, with minimal peeling, and my bug bites quit itching almost immediately after applying the oils.

If you're familiar with the surfing lifestyle, you'll know that the most common way to quickly sanitize reef rash is by squeezing fresh lemon juice onto the cuts. I think this is the common practice because of convenience. Let me tell you that lemon juice on a fresh wound is the opposite of a pain reliever and it doesn't do anything to speed the healing process, let alone prevent any scarring.

Allow me to show you what essential oils can do

REEF RASH
The proof is in the photos.
reefrash1.jpeg
reefrash2.jpeg
reefrash3.jpeg
Photos taken from my iPhone

Stop the lemon juice madness. If you do it to prove how tough you are, we're all much more impressed by the waves you charge than the amount of burning lemon you can endure. Now it's time to use your head and treat your injury the smart way.

Use These Oils To:
STOP BLEEDING
ALLEVIATE PAIN
PREVENT INFECTION
SPEED UP HEALING
PREVENT SCARRING
I suggest carrying your own mix with you, especially if you're traveling or doing any kind of adventuring. You never know when you're gonna need the little bottle of miracles. I certainly was happy to have had mine on this trip!

DISCLAIMER

If your injury is severe and you need stitches, go to a medical care facility and get treated! These tips are intended for minor cuts and scrapes. Although these oils will stop minor bleeding, it is no replacement for stitches. You can always apply these oils after getting stitches to help relieve the pain, speed the healing process and prevent scarring

TREAT THE WOUNDS, STOP THE PAIN, SPEED THE HEALING:

Frankincense

The miracle oil yet again tops my list of essential oils to have on hand. Frankincense is gentle on your skin and a natural pain reliever when applied topically. It will help to stop bleeding and it will dramatically decrease healing time.

Myrrh

The other gift from the Three Wise Men makes this list for it's healing qualities also. Myrrh promotes healthy new skin growth, which means faster healing and less scarring.

Castor

Castor oil is such a great oil for addressing wounds. It's germicidal, and disinfectant. It's also very effective for treating sunburn. It's anti-inflammatory and super hydrating qualities make it ideal to apply after a long day in the hot sun. It will help the redness subside and prevent peeling. Castor oil is also great to apply to the ends of your lovely locks after a day out in the sun and wind and salt water. It's supreme moisture will help to heal the drying damage caused by this exposure.

Geranium

This oil is great to apply after cleansing the wound. Apply geranium oil to keep it clean and prevent infections. Geranium oil is an anti-inflammatory, antiseptic and an astringent. It will also help to fade scars after time.

Hyssop

This one is an anti-septic and astringent. It's common for healing wounds and bruises.

Juniper

Juniper is a detoxifying oil that cleanses and soothes your skin. You should combine it with frankincense for additional pain relief.

Chamomile

Chamomile will prevent infections, help heal wounds, cuts and bruises. It will also reduce the appearance of scars.

FADE SCARS:

Helichrysum

Can be quite expensive, however helichrysum is considered by many as the most powerful oil you can use to heal and fade scars.

Patchouli

An anti-inflammatory oil that promotes cell regeneration and treats scar tissue

Neroli

Promotes cell regeneration and is helpful in fading scars.

TRY THESE COMBINATIONS:

Use a 2 oz bottle, fill 1/2 way with carrier oil.
In this case, Castor oil is IDEAL.
Add in your essential oils to supplement your specific needs.

To Treat Pain And Prevent Infections:

Castor (Fill 1/2 the bottle)
Frankincense (20 drops)
Juniper (15 drops)
Geranium (10 drops)
Chamomile (20 drops)

To Speed Healing And Prevent Scarring:

Castor (Fill 1/2 bottle)
Frankincense (20 drops)
Myrrh (20 drops)
Hyssop (20 drops)

To Fade Scars

(These oils are more effective in fading new scars, and less so with old or severe scars)

Castor (Fill 1/2 bottle)
Chamomile (20 drops)
Helichrysum (20 drops)
Patchouli and/or Neroli (20 drops)

Sort:  

Definitely one of my very favourite post of yours! Awesome work and very very kind sharing. Thank you.

All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Hold the phone - Heidi, you got bitten by
A POISONOUS CENTIPEDE?!?
Expand on this please (perhaps a with a brand new post with this story?)
If that savage monster that snacked on your flesh was radioactive, Spider-Man might have a new ally in crime fighting.
Hope your new super powers are awesome!
😁

Thanks Heidi, first time I ever heard of Frankincense.
Surfs Up Again!!!

Frank

It's my favorite one! It's the Windex of essential oils. (If you've ever seen My Big Fat Greek Wedding...)

No I haven't seen that movie yet. Have to check it out one day. That photo of you on your board last year in Tahiti is amazing! The scenery in the back ground almost makes you look like you're in a snow globe. One day I want to check out Tahiti, not to surf those waves though.

Frank

thats a good idea

Great post, I will try to work this recipe... thank you.

toooooby!!!!!! haha thats actually pretty damn impressive how quick that healed... ok I'm impressed.. gotta get on the oil program next

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37