Eat more water? EAT water? Yes, let me explain

in #health6 years ago

If you find that you simply can’t drink enough water, then EAT your water instead! You should still try to drink as much as you can (without getting waterlogged), but this attack plan is good for the days when you’re a little below your water intake goal.

thumb-eatwater.jpg

There are fruits and veggies that have a high water content, therefore helping to hydrate you. These include:

Cucumbers
Grapefruit
Apples
Pineapple
Lettuce
Celery
Radishes
Watermelon

See? Easy peasy. That's how to EAT more water by eating fruits & veggies with a high water content.

Another way to keep up your liquid intake:

You can do that by watering down your juice. When you really want a glass of juice instead of water, you can dilute it so increase your water content a bit. Just think about it – if you have a 12-ounce glass, and you dilute it with water just by 25 percent, that cup of yummy, fruity juice has also added 4 ounces of water. It is a super easy way to add to your water intake for the day. This is also going to reduce your calories, carbs, and sugar. Win/win/win.

If you often forget to drink enough water, these little reminders can help.

Drink water before every meal, snack, and other beverage
Drink a glass of water when you wake up
Drink water before or after your workouts
Drink a glass of water after every trip to the bathroom (leave a glass next to the wash basin?)
Drink a glass of water every time you enter your office or your home
Keep a water glass on your work desk or bench.

So what do we say to wrap this up? DRINK UP. Water, that is. And dehydration wont be a problem.

Written by Gary Harvey and first published here
Did you find this post after day 7?
Then please consider upvoting a recent article
Photo credits: Stencil

MY STEEMIT STRATEGY

  1. Post daily. On a variety of topics, not just the one thing.
  2. Comment a lot (minimum 10/day, ideally 20-30/day, @angelacs ). @ClixMoney recommends minimum 2 paragraphs per comment. Watch the new posts page.
  3. Upvote comments by visitors to my blog. @andysantics48 suggests upvote 50 posts/day to help others progress. @angelacs says "IF I comment, I ALWAYS upvote."
  4. Follow more community leaders in topics I'm interested in.
  5. Resteem other people's posts. Show you're a team player, wanting to serve the community here.

YOUR INVITATION
Got thoughts on my new and developing strategy? Please share 'em.

Sort:  

It's definitely easier to dehydrate when you are fasting so there is more water in food than we realize. That's why it's so important to force yourslf to drink more water when you are fasting.

Fasting isnt all that popular, is it? No big surprise about that.

These days I read of "intermittent fasting" (different to total fasting where there's no food or water, often for religious contemplation). The idea behind this health fasting is to avoid late night (and midnight) snacking, the goal being to give your digestive system some time off.

I do intermittent fasting twice a week for 24 hours, 36 hours once a month. It's great for helping to lose body fat and a process called autophagy helps your cells to regenerate.

It's always a good day when I learn something, espec about health. So thanks, and upvoted.

AUTOPHAGY. "consumption of the body’s own tissue as a metabolic process occurring in starvation and certain diseases."

(I had to look it up.)

Great, glad you learned something. Steemit is great for that. Autophagy is just one beneficial process of fasting. There are a number of others such as hormone rebalancing, insulin balance etc.

You are an encyclopedia!

Thanks,
Gary

That sounds like a good strategy. It’ll keep you busy for sure. Nice advice about the water too. Thanks.

@boxbluecar, I'm sure you're right about this plan keeping me busy!!

But I'm especially pleased to see that you think the strategy is sound. May I ask -- which items on that loooong list of daily tasks would you prioritize? With your impressive rep 69, I figure you must know a thing or two about success on Steemit -- and I feel honored that you've dropped in on me here.

TY,
Gary

Hmmm, I tried to upvote your comment, but got an unknown error and a nice red cross. Holler if you know a way around that. I'm writing on Busy. Maybe try on Steemit?

Update. The reason I couldnt upvote you is that I had delegated most of my SteemPower away. The error message doesnt explain but I got on Discord and found several helpful people who did explain, and then one very helpful person who delegated a big chunk of SP to me, so I could complete the undelegation process. Since he loaned it to me, he can take it back with no further involvement by me.

So I am now free to post more and comment more and upvote more, so I've now upvoted your original albeit-brief comment. Because it was helpful to me, so again... thank you.

Gary

I know water is good but forcing yourself to drink it is hard. Does water increase your lifespan?

Not directly, I wouldnt think. But it helps flush out toxins, for one thing - and that's good for your health, so indirectly I'd say yes.

How's that sound?

Sounds good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58861.70
ETH 2499.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48