Milk linked to an increase in all causes of mortality

in #health8 years ago (edited)

Milk linked to an increase in all causes of mortality. In addition, many people genetically of African and Asian descent cannot digest milk. In my opinion, Milk is a perfect example of a food which poses as a "health food" based primarily on marketing rather than on any statistical evidence. In fact, milk is insulinogenic in specific because of the lactose sugar, which most (65% of us) humans probably haven't evolved the gene to digest.

Conclusion

This isn't to say you can't drink milk but more that you should be aware of your genetic disposition in order to determine what effect milk could have on you. In specific, some individuals consume dairy, gain a lot of weight, and have higher circulating insulin levels, combined with whatever diarrhea effect of lactose intolerance. Not everyone has the same genes, so in people who digest lactose well, and who do not have problems with insulin resistance or higher insulin levels (which can manifest as weight gain), these individuals can consume as much dairy as they want. At the same time the statistics and data do seem to show that milk is more harmful to health than any benefit we get from it which would mean most of the perception of it being healthy is due to marketing.

References

  1. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4586558/
  2. https://ghr.nlm.nih.gov/condition/lactose-intolerance
  3. http://health.usnews.com/health-news/blogs/eat-run/2014/11/03/milk-and-mortality-questioning-the-answers
  4. http://ajcn.nutrition.org/content/74/1/96.full
  5. http://ajcn.nutrition.org/content/80/5/1246.full
  6. http://www.bmj.com/content/349/bmj.g6015
Sort:  

We are the only species that seeks out another species lactation for sustenance. Sure, a dog or cat will drink cow's milk if you give it to them, but it's not anything they go after.

The only reason a cat or a dog won't "naturally" go for cows milk, is they don't have opposoble thumbs, therefore they are unable to milk the cow.

Dana above said this line...

which most (65% of us) humans probably haven't evolved the gene to digest.

This isn't true. almost all of us can digest milk before the age of 16, seeing as we have lactase present in our stomachs.

If we weren't meant to drink milk, then none of us would be here, seeing as we drank it in abundance in our evolutionary past. Though I admit, drinking it beyond the age of 16 is probably a relatively new thing.

Cg

Neither of us are wrong. 65% of adults are lactose intolerant. We aren't meant to drink cows milk ever, and are only meant to drink human milk during the weaning period. Some humans have evolved a gene allowing them to digest lactose but the majority of humans do not have this gene.

I was specifically speaking about adults drinking cows milk. Not babies drinking human milk. Even among the humans who have the gene to digest milk, it doesn't mean milk is healthy. I don't think milk should be marketed as a health food or as healthy.

It's odd that we consider drinking cow or goat milk normal behaviour. I'm sure there would be an outcry if supermarkets started stocking cat, dog, mouse or bat milk for example.

True.

Not to mention that the modern processing of the milk - Homogenization - makes milk dangerous for your body cells.

Maybe Asians and Africans have lost the gene for digesting milk ;-)
Asians because cows are holy, africans because they ate the cows.

Morality is the way and path to freedom for all from human-imposed enslavement, violence and harm.

vegananarchist2ba16.jpg

fresh milk harvested from a cow farm, like in the country sides, is probably the best alternative instead of those that are processed

I get sick if I drink a lot of milk
I can handle soy, rice, organic dairy,
and of course goats milk
But Regular Milk is Yucky
There Are Hormones in that stuff

The gene to digest milk is relatively new and emerged somewhere in Europe. Not all Europeans had this gene which is why Cheese became popular in Europe. So it's not just you who gets sick drinking milk, most of us do.

  1. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lactase_persistence

This might be me mis-remembering something, but I think that I once read that milk could contain prions. Prions are a type of 'infectious' protein that can replicate themselves and cause diseases when transmitted. E.g., they are responsible for CJD, the human form of BSE or 'mad cow disease', a degenerative brain condition.
This put me off milk for a number of years!

you're a nutritionist too these days?

I'm a human being, and as a human being I have to take at least some responsibility for my own nutrition. You should do the same, you have the Internet and can conduct your own research to reach conclusions about what you should or should not consume.

My conclusion is that milk is well marketed but with very limited health benefit if it has any at all.

:) I'm glad you are a human being, sometimes i wonder ;)
I have done my research and i drink ton of milk. i'm drinking a glass right now before bed. I'll have one honoring your post in the morning. I usually buy a 12-pack...of milky milk. Running out of milk? that's the worst feeling, you know?

Is this accurate? I have been drinking milk for years... as has just about everyone I know.. including my 90 year old grandfather...

I cite my sources and you can check for yourself. The calcium you can get from milk you can get from more nutritionally dense sources such as spinach. There is no health benefit to drinking milk and the evidence actually points to milk being unhealthy. That being said, depending on your genetics it might be a little less or a little more unhealthy for you. If you are lactose intolerant, then you don't have the gene to digest milk, but your grandfather might, who knows?

Interesting. I have noticed I have not received a single upvote from you on one of my posts or a reply in anything I've posted even though I've continuously been an active contributor in yours... most of your replies to me have been argumentative in nature... now it appears you are losing whale support for your posts... try being a little more... friendly. It might change your life.

You asked a question, I answered your question. You asked "Is this accurate?" and my answer is to the best of my knowledge it is accurate. Of course it's my opinion.

Whether you upvote my posts or I upvote your posts, should be based on our own subjective opinions. Pressuring me to upvote your posts even if I don't agree with your post is not a way to win upvotes. If I see a post which I want to upvote then I'll upvote it, and if whales or whomever see posts of mine which they want to upvote then they'll upvote it.

There is no need for pressuring. Just communicate and "like" as you normally would on Reddit, Facebook or anywhere else, as if no money is attached.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22