All Hail Malaria; A Story Of My Attempted Assassination

in #health6 years ago (edited)

images (16).jpeg

Some people see malaria as just a regular disease. I remember September last year when I almost died. I had been having malaria symptoms for days but I believed that as a sure boy, I could withstand it till it passes. So that fateful day, I was at the faculty of science with Tayo. We were standing on the road and talking with some people coming out of their class. One minute I was okay, the next sudden pain descended on my body. My heartbeat faltered and I felt suddenly weak. I had to sit down. Tayo was still talking to girl, but as I sat there, I knew that I needed to get treated.
So I headed to Jaja clinic and I had to wait 2 hours for the doctor to attend me. By the time I left there I was staggering. The doctors were unsympathetic to my plight and they just told me to go home and use the malaria drugs. By the time I got home I was shaking and shivering. I began to vomit repeatedly. I managed to swallow the drugs down amidst the sickness. I was hot and I was cold at the same time. I was in pain. I have never felt such pain in my life. It seemed like the pain was on a molecular level. My bones began to ache. Blood began to pour from my nose. I was alone. I lay on the floor in the midst of all the blood and began to convulse.
The convulsions came and went, but I was conscious enough to put a pen between my teeth to avoid biting off my tongue. To cap it off there was no light. I lay on the tiled floor throughout the night sweating profusely with blood dripping non stop from my nose. I was awake through it all. Sometime around 5am I finally fell asleep. Even the Dream was a nightmare. I woke up to see that I had vomited again. My body felt like I had been dragged through a cement mixer. But the bleeding had stopped and I could stand up.
_
Since then, I never joke with malaria symptoms. It is a painful way to die.images (16).jpeg

Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

The convulsions came and went, but I was concious enough to put a pen between my teeth to avoid biting off my tongue.
It should be conscious instead of concious.

Thank you. I've corrected it

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

You got a 6.08% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @awolesigideon!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76