Intermittent Fasting (How it's working out for me)

in #health7 years ago (edited)

image

Fasting

I'm really no stranger to fasting. I've done many types of fasts over the last decade or so. Just to name a few.

●Daniel fast plants only

●Water only self explanatory

●Media fast no screen time (yeah sounds weird, but try it sometime, especially if it sounds weird or outrageous to you)

●Juice/liquid fast no chewing

●Have not tried the communist fast and don't plan to.

I have recently tried intermittent fasting.

Just a couple of weeks ago I started skipping eating for one day per week this was just to give my guts a rest and really begin have mastery over my soulish self, (mind, will, and emotion). It was nothing really substantial at first, but once I had done it a few times it was actually very easy.

Then I began to reserach this whole intermittent fasting thing and realized there are apparently a lot of good things that can come out if it!

●Elevated HGH (human growth hormone) anti aging effects.

●Restoring low testosterone levels especially in middle aged and older men.

●Giving your organs a rest.

●Boosting Immune function.

●Many others.

~Now every one of these claims I have not personally verified.
I haven't stepped on a scale or had my BMI measured and I don't plan on it.

Feel free to do the research that you would like to and sort it all out.


# What I *have* noticed.

I'VE BEEN DOING THE 16/8 METHOD. (16 hours of fasting per day and an eight hour window of eating allowance. This really feels more like a change in eating habits than a fast.

●Loss of belly fat and more definition of muscle (seriously, in just about 10 days)?

●Spend far less time preparing food, thinking about food and doing dishes, so I have more time for other things.

●Less sluggish in general

●Work outs are more intense.

I recently found while cycling I was able to ride harder, longer and was less fatigued at the end of the ride.

Also discovered I was able to do 25% more pull ups seemingly miraculously.

●Greater mastery over my, mind, will, emotions, also over spirits of compulsion and addiction. I just really do seem to have more control over my own actions.

After all, who wants their belly to be their master?

●I didnt gorge to make up for lost calories.The stomach is quite elastic and will shrink very quickly you will find.* I couldn't go crazy with food even if I wanted to* without being very uncomfortable.

I encourage anyone interested in this to look deeper and see if it is for you. If it isn't I guess you can just pick up the spoon again right?

Hope you find yourself encouraged by this.

image
Selah.

Photo credits:

Via duckduckgo websearch fasting images

Sort:  

Happy Fasting to us all!!!! Time to skip a meal :) Oh yeah, I tried communist fasting - trust me - works miracles LOL

Funny pic, and some good inspiration.
I had been thinking about a Media fast just the other day, doing 30 days to re-wire the brain, but I would need a vacation that long I work on a pc :x
How long do you recommend for a first time try for a water only fast ?

I did a 3 day water only fast.

Sounds like an eternity, but once I got 1/2 way past day two I felt really clean, and like I could go forever without eating.

The media fast can be difficult as we are constantly bombarded with screen images almost everywhere we go. So I feel you on that one. You could try just shutting off the Facebook or Twitter or other meaningless scrolling. That in itself is very refreshing.

Thanks for the suggestions ! A friend in his 50s did the water only for 3 weeks but with incremental practice and he started with 3 days also

That's a marathon to me. I did do the liquid/juice fast for 40 days that so its not impossible (obviously)

Even just one day of water only or whatever is a good start. For me personally I usually build up to the bigger things. Others may jump in with both feet and have great success. I suppose it just depends on the individual.

40 days nice ! Yes I'm more the put one toe in the water first guy too with stuff like that I will start with 3 days water, thanks for the infos.

Good post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14