Cyclist vs. Snapping Dogs (A solution)

in #health7 years ago (edited)

image

Attention all cyclists:

If you have been cycling for any length of time at all it is almost inevitable that you have encountered what I will call snapping dogs.

These furry agressive guys who insist that you have no right to freely travel down their street, and seem to have this uncontrollable compulsion to chase snap at, and even bite you. All of this while you are traveling at speeds that you'd rather not hit the pavement at.

What can you do?

There are a few options.

●Pepper sprays or mace (awkward at best to reach for unlock and try to hit a moving target while riding) it also takes a few seconds to kick in, so even if you manage to hit your mark you could be bitten and wreck regardless

● Yelling never seen this work, ever not once.

●Out running the dog. This is certainly an option if you are in any decent kind of riding shape, but not the best in my opinion because it sort of reinforces the predator vs. prey mentality that seems to be innate in many canines.

What to remember...

This is very simple and, has worked without exception every single time I have tried it.

●The thing to realize in the animal kingdom is, intimidation goes a long way, so it is not necessary to actually attack or injure a dog if you are on a bike even if they totally have it coming.

●When you are on a bike, an aggressive dog sees you as prey, you are something to be chased, and gotten too.

BE AWARE If you don't see danger coming, you're ambushed and basically screwed.

What I do...

●As you see the aggressive canine coming your way pick up speed, just enough to be ahead of your would be attacker. If you are in decent riding shape on a fairly fast bike you should be able to outrun all but the fastest dogs

●Remain calm, animals can sense fear.

●As the dog reaches it's peak speed slam on your brakes and let the dog launch past you * I guarantee they will not be expecting this.*

●Now you are behind the dog and can begin to bear down on it with your bike and give chase. they are now the prey, the tables have been turned. they will generally run off entirely confused with their tail between their legs.
image

sounds crazy but, it works.

Hope you enjoyed this! happy riding!

Sort:  

Someone needs to film themselves doing this and share it with the world

Enjoyed reading that. Good advice and Humorous.

Lol hitting the brakes to reverse the role sounds cartoonesque, have you actually pulled this off?

I have actually seen this in action. My husband is quite the pro. The dogs do get completely confused and kind of run off because they don't know "how to play that game". Just don't do what I did. I had 3 medium size dogs coming at me full force and they didn't have the "let's play" face on. They looked liked they were ready for a tasty bite of my ankle. I was watching their 2 owners in the yard barely calling after them. In a state of confusion, I slammed on both brakes (not just the back brake) and played superman. After getting up, I did chase the first dog and was going to snatch him up, 'til I realized I was all the way in their yard when I caught up to him. The lady started yelling at me like a fool. ???? People who can't control their animals should have them pinned up until they can or get rid of them. Seriously. But yeah, the dog did run when I chased it back on foot. And his tail was between his legs.

Wow what a story, thanks for sharing! Yeah its crazy that some people just dont know how to control their own pets..

I was thinking the same thing hahaha

@thephotoguide I've done this at least a dozen times.

I cycle in a rural area where leashes and fences are basically non existent, and snapping territorial dogs are abundant.

It has worked without flaw everytime.

As a matter of fact the dogs on my regular riding routes don't bother to chase me anymore. I don't know if they've become tired of being chased back or they are just more familiar with me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82