How I became a vegetarian and what has happened the last 3 months.

in #health6 years ago

Hello Everyone,

I wanted to share my story about becoming vegetarian. First off, I would have never considered anything like this if I didn't have certain people in my life.

The first person that I ever knew to be vegan, was @RobertGenito, he was alway talking about what he was eating and being raw vegan. Robert if you are actually reading this, a lot of your posts made me try new foods! Robert once posted a photo of a Durian, also viewed as the worlds smelliest fruits or the king of fruit. It was by far the weirdest thing that was out there. But some impulse I had made want to try it. The first time I had it I thought it was so gross and smelly but 2 weeks later I found myself buying an even bigger Durian, I think this one was about 14 lbs. It was a hot summer day and I found myself outside just eating the durian and all of a sudden it was gone! It was so delicious and creamy! I know now that it is something that I will want to eat often. I get one about every other month because they are quite expensive unfortunately.

But let me get to how I became vegetarian and how it has gone so far.

Let me first off by saying I didn't do this for any health benefits or purposeful action. It started at the end of January when my fiance and I were having a casual conversation when planning out our weekly meals. I said hey, lets not eat meat this week. My fiance was very open to the idea of not eating meat. The week came and gone to the next weekend.

We both found it pretty uplifting and a cleansing experience.

Over the last few months I have found myself not craving meat at all which is very interesting especially coming from a primarily meat based diet.

Writing this help trigger some thoughts, when individuals plan out meals, especially in the united states. It usually begins with what meat are we having? then planning side with that.

Now its more like what sounds good? Like tonight, we are trying to integrate with the cultural norm that people are doing in the states call "Taco Tuesday". Well, that is pretty easy to do as a vegetarian.

We are having sautéed onions and bell pepper, with black beans, and avocado. Pretty simple!

Overall, the experience has been amazing so far :)

I have been out to eat many times as well. When going out to eat, my fiance and I usually go to a vegan restaurant which has been AMAZING! There are so many options in the Seattle area and if you are in the Seattle area I would love to provide some suggestions!

Because I don't want this post to go imageless, here are some pics of some recent dinners I have made!

Pull Pork (Made with Jackfruit)
Screen Shot 2018-05-01 at 3.58.12 PM.png

Fajita Bowls
Screen Shot 2018-05-01 at 3.58.42 PM.png

Stir Fry with Tofu
Screen Shot 2018-05-01 at 3.57.40 PM.png

Would you upvote this post and please comment below if you would like me to post vegetarian meal ideas on a daily or weekly basis?

Cheers,
Albert

Sort:  

Truly a healthy choice to make. I too was a vegetarian for many years but fell off the wagon lol I still eat mostly a lacto ovo vegetarian diet.

How did you fall off the wagon? Was there something in particular that you missed eating or just happened?

I missed the occasional steak, such a selfish reason to go back to eating meat but that was truly the sole reason.

hehe that is quite alright! I have been thinking of maybe eating meat once a week or being a pescatrian.

To be a vegetarian is quite an experience but its a very healthy lifestyle. Fruits and vegetables are so amazing in terms of the nutrient present in them. your fruit/vegetable contains phytochemicals, antioxidants,minerals, vitamins, essential minerals and anti-microbial compound. You hardly fall sick as veg...........Always remember this*******Let your medicine be your drug,Let your drug be your medicine*********

Honestly, not buying meat has probably saved us $30 every time we go to the grocery store.

really and by eyes it's very delicious

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89