Hardfork 20 - 15 minute Rule - 255

in #hardfork206 years ago

I guess Hardfork 20 is still coming I think.

Per request I think the main thing people should know is that I guess if you upvote a post or comment before it is 15 minutes old you can lose some money since they are going to send early vote curation rewards into the rewards pool.

If you upvote at 14 minutes you will not lose much but if you upvote in the first minute I think you lose all of your creation rewards. This is similar to how things are now but now if you upvote early you give the author a bonus.

In addition I think there is going to be resource credits. I think what this means is that Steemit will be giving less delegations to newbies or maybe cost less to create an account.

I think there are also some minor changes like how late you can vote. I think we will probably want to be vigilant when the Hardfork 20 rolls out. I think it will be making the Steem Blockchain even more complicated and most witnesses don't bother to explain anything.

I'm still bearish long term but I think the the "short" term downtrend could last a while.


source

To reiterate my point I will try and be vigilant once the Hardfork rolls out. I think I understand how the key 15 minute rule works but I will have to be very careful not to upvote anything before 15 minutes since that will be wasting up to 25% of my vote. I'm not really sure what the impact of the fork will be but I don't think it will help the price of Steem.

#king
257.633 SP
3147 VP

Sort:  

i think this was a good article, we will see how much benefits hf20 will have. greez, s error

so irewards before 15min wont go to the author anymore?
btw... when will they retry hf20?

Yes authors will be losing out on curation rewards that went to them for early voting.
I think the hardfork is still supposed to happen this month but I am not certain.

What do you mean with "it will cost less to create an account"? As far as I know I never paid for that?

I think somebody pays for account creation. I'm not sure where the fee goes. I think they might start burning some Steem where the Steem just disappears.

From what I understand is that they are not going to give out delegation to new accounts, they claim HF20 will fix the bandwidth issue so that shouldn't be a concern with new accounts. Like when you signed on they gave you 15 steem...that's not going to happen anymore. Someone also wrote a post about the HF that said unless you have 120 to 140 steem power your vote will basically be worthless. Supposedly they are going to start charging to open an account. Least this is all the things I've read from various post.

That's they way I understand it too.
I'm hoping they still do the delegation though. I think I was given 1 free Steem when I signed up and now they are giving .5 I think plus the delegation. I think that .5 will go to zero.

I got 0 Steem when I signed up .... I did have the 15 delegation.

They probably gave you at least .1 and you didn't notice it. The .1 is part of the 14.9 delegation that they give.
https://steemd.com/@hoaryhigger is a new account for example.

Wow, charging for a new account is a bad idea! A vote that is worthless unless you have 120-140 Steem is even worse! I think most people don't have that much!

I think there's always been a charge and it's always been paid by Steemit or whoever is actually making the account. Steemit makes most of the accounts. I think the fee they pay will get cheaper but I'm not sure.

Does the 15 minutes rule also apply when someone puts a comment under an article and self upvotes that comment? Or is it only the upvoting of the main article?

It will apply to every single blog post and comment so if you post and upvote right away only 75% of your vote gets counted. The other 25% goes back into the rewards pool

Counting from the time the blog post happened, or the comment was placed?

When the comment was placed. Each comment is basically the same as a blog post as far as earnings goes.

I haven't heard it applies to comments just voting the article. I will have to check that out myself to see what's up with that.

Blog posts and comments have always been treated the same when it comes to earnings as far as I know.

At the time of me commenting on this post, steem looks to be trending upward on the coingecko. Fingers crossed for the HF20 implementation.

Never know I guess but I expect the short term downtrend to continue for a bit. I wouldn't be surprised to see a brief bounce up to $1 for the hardfork though.

I am shocked, shocked I say, that the masses aren't leaving popular social media for Steemit with its ease of use. Shocked! LOL

Yeah I'm not sure if even the majority of witnesses even understand the code. lol That is both funny and sad at the same time.
They probably do but who knows.
I think Steemit will eventually work but it may take some time. I think SBD's are coming back so that might help things or it might hurt things.

Congratulations @mysearchisover! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You got a 9.10% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @mysearchisover!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75