Curator Cat cautiously peers at the Post HF.20 Landscape

in #hardfork206 years ago

Now that we've all had a more or less forced 36 hours off, I'm cautiously peering around the new landscape.

Thanks to the hard work of @steemchiller and his awesome SteemWorld.org app, I am trying to get a feel for the new landscape, step by step.

CC0052Eye.jpg
Not sure I trust what's out there...

I have looked at a few Hardfork.20 related posts, and noticed that everyone seems super cautious: "How much does THIS cost, and how much does THAT cost... what should I do, and not do?"

My Advice: NOTHING

The various posts on the @steemitblog feed indicate that it will take "about five days" for the new system to "normalize," so it makes little sense to me to become all overwrought and reactive till at least those five days have passed.

It all seems very unpredictable, right now.

Just claimed my rewards from the past 48 hours, and that actually increased by RC (or "mana," as some are calling it) balance from 31.23% to 35.83%. I guess because I got come "credit" for a little bit of powering up.

On the other hand — for no reason at all, as I have been inactive for almost 48 hours — my voting power instantaneously dropped from 100% to 67.7%, as a result of doing so. WTF?

Turns out, that's "to be expected." In fact, there's a post about it on the official @steemitblog.

CC0090Face.jpg
Just watching, for now...

Other minor Experiments

For grins, unfollowed a thoroughly "dead" account I had been following — but with no activity for five months. RC balance went from 35.83% to 36.25%.

Then voting. As a test (and because I pretty much have nothing to lose), I went and cast a single 100% vote for @abh12345's first post since HF.20. Big deal. 3 cents. BUT... RC balance went from 36.25% to 36.13% (bearable) however voting power dropped from 67.7% to 33.8%! Ouch... that's a bit steep.

I guess we'll all be voting a lot less for the next few days, till this all normalizes.

Next experiment: posted a medium length comment to the same post. That "cost" from 36.13% RC balance to 34.87% RC balance, so clearly comments are a little more expensive. Unexpectedly, my voting power jumped from 33.82% to 34.08%. That makes no sense at all.

CC0028Daisy.jpg
Not sure who sleeps more: Me, or the dog...

With Nothing Making Sense

Since all of this is really kind of scary, I am just going to make my last effort of the day be to post this.

It makes me a little nervous that this update seems to be working against those of us who tend to be active and interactive.

Hopefully I have enough "go juice" to make a post. Time will tell.

I miss you, all my feline and Hooman Steemit friends! I hope you are all weathering the uncertainty with style. As for me, I am just going to go back to one of my favorite activities: Sleeping!

=^..^=

Sort:  

I can explain a few things here. It's not as scary as one may think :) The RC balance is not being updated as long as we don't make a new transaction. That lead to the strange behavior you experienced, because the update took place and in the meantime your RC have grown a bit (not through your transactions).

I've now added the automatic calculation of the RC balance, so that from now on we can see the real values ;) In 'Account Details -> Resource Credits' are now a few more details being listed as well.

Thank you @steemchiller, it seems a lot of the Steemit helper apps and front ends had no way of anticipating what the hardfork actually did to the system.

Yes, as far as I can tell, SteemWorld is tracking accurately - compared side-by-side with the feed from Steemd. Which, of course, assumes that Steemd is recording correctly...

Hello Shadow and Hoomans! I like that eye and chair image, sums it up perfectly.

While I have been able to transact, and it's sad that you have to be almost a dolphin to be able to do that I have been waiting for my MP to recharge to a point where 100% upvotes were more than 5c and drained my power even further to the point where it won't keep diminishing. You'll see a lot more people get active again soon.

Thanks @nikv; I just figure that pretty much everyone is in the same boat. The new posts feed did look a little "odd" for a while, with only whales and 25-rep newbies posting new posts... but it's all going to settle down, I'm sure.

I discovered another "quirk" of the update... my voting power had recovered somewhat, but then a delegation I had had for a few months was terminated and suddenly my VP dropped from about 64% to 36%. So I'm commenting more than upvoting at the moment, while my VP recovers.

=^..^=

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97