How to think about the prickles and flowers in life

in #happiness6 years ago (edited)

20171005_122220.jpg

Isn't this plant a good representation of life? Life here on this earth is full of experiences that are beautiful, and experiences that can be painful. Much like this cactus, you may find both in the same location. I have been doing a personal study on contentment the past few days. I was wondering, "What leads to contentment? How can I be more content? What is true contentment?"

A few eye-opening quotations that I came across this morning:

"He who is not contented with what he has, would not be contented with what he would like to have." --attributed to Socrates

"But godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into the world and we can take nothing out of it. But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that." 1 Timothy 6:6-8 The Bible

"I have learned to seek my happiness by limiting my desires, rather than in attempting to satisfy them." --J.S. Mill

" A heart at peace gives life to the body, but envy rots the bones." Proverbs 14:30 The Bible

Much to ponder! I believe that God wants us to be as content as possible for our time here in this world. However, I also believe that we will never reach contentment in its fullest measure until we are again united with our Creator.

Until then, I wish to be like the Apostle Paul, "Not that I speak from want, for I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am. I know how to get along with humble means, and I also know how to live in prosperity; in any and every circumstance I have learned the secret of being filled and going hungry, both of having abundance and suffering need. I can do all things through Him who strengthens me." Philippians 4:11-13 The Bible

20171005_122226.jpg

Sort:  

Well said. I now understand that contentment is a state of mind, and a gift from God too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13