Let's Sculpt a Happy Little Octopus

in #handmade6 years ago (edited)

20180517_143939.jpg

Well, actually, just part of the octopus. I had a lot of fun making three pendants last week and I had a chance to put this one to use. I will tell you, I love the design elements with the holes on the side and the one up top for wire wrapping. What I don't love is how challenging it is to wrap. Getting the wire framework to fit the pendant was quite difficult.

20180517_131345.jpg

From the front, it's easy to see a lot of the challenge, but it only becomes real when you check out the back. It's usually "taboo" to show the back of our work. I didn't do this one in my usual style. I normally do a spiral on the back of pendants and then webbing. This didn't lend itself to do that. It fought me every step of the way. The bail was actually the easiest part of this time and I may stick with this format for future pendants.

The key with making a pendant is that it has to be wearable. It has to be comfortable against the skin. It can't snag on someone's sweater or the person won't wear it. I kept all of the swirls tucked in very close at the tips for this and was very delicate in how I did the cross-holds for the back. In the end, it feels comfortable. I would wear it. I made this necklace with the intent of about 22-24 inches long, not counting the pendant. It's 23.

OctoPage.jpg

I do think wire wrapping stones is far easier than wrapping a flat pendant, but it's a learning process that I hope to improve on. The beads are made of a recycled magazine page in a bicone, coated for water resistance. They take awhile. Loving the chance to use tiger tail for the first time in ages. A friend bought me some crimp pliers so I can finally get these all finished up!

Next up....finding PC-Petrifier to try to see how it works on giving the beads even more strength. These ones are pretty darn hard. I already coat a lot. Like most artisans, I want to take this a step further.

You can find this necklace on my etsy site along with others I've made (and coloring books and pages, original paintings, prints, etc!)

https://www.etsy.com/listing/615046463/sculpted-octopus-and-flower-pendant-wire

Sort:  

Thank you very much for this great post and very creative, thanks to this post

Thank you very much :) I'm just now getting back into creating.

Welcome to understand my comment

Congratulations @shelahdowart! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83