An Original Haiku: Cape Minstrels

in #haiku6 years ago (edited)

My entry into the Hello Hello Group Activity - 11

Tweede Nuwe Jaar (Second New Year) is a traditional celebration held annually on the 2nd of January. This tradition originated in Cape Town during the 1800's. In those days slaves would be given off from their duties; a day after the actual New Year.

CAPE MINSTRELS

Second New Years Day
splash of colour, song and dance;
Slave's New Year of old!"


Gfycat


An Original Haiku - All Rights Reserved

What is a Haiku?
Haikus are a Japanese traditional poetry form which uses 17 morae to tell a story. In English the accepted format is 17 syllables in a 5-7-5 line structure.

Why are Haikus an art form ?
The challenge is to express your thoughts with with a minimum of words, similarly to Earnest Hemingway's famous six word sentence.

Learn more about Haikus - here!

Sort:  

This 2nd new year is the real independence day for those slaves. i just wonder with this slave history. The time was different so the society. How people can be captured / bound like an animal!

@aaarif, unfortunately these cruelty happened in our world!

Hi @rlt47, Greetings from #HHG11! That's an awesome history reading and a fantastic haiku. I love celebration in History... thanks so much for sharing :D
PS: Please post this blog into #HHG11.

@ainie.kashif - Yes the Cape Minstrels have been a Great Cape Town tradition...and for this reason, it was important that I shared it. What you will find very interesting is that a lot of the people that started the minstrels are Cape Malays, descendants of the Malays that were brought to Cape Town during the 1800's as slave labour and artisans. Cape Malays are the most active of all the people in the minstrels these days.

Lol! you're too fast for me @ainie.kashif... I try to post article a day early on my blog so that I don't run late...but you come and find my post before I can post it to the HHG... very funny!

What? Wow! There are Malays there? That's an awesome history. Would be interesting to know if they speak the same Malay language as me. @rlt47... yes, I find you at your page because I got lonely not seeing your post there hahaha :D

ROFL, this very much a Cape Town thing with the Cape Malay's. I love it all the silly songs they sing. they prepare for months in advance for all the costumes and marching! It's a very jovial atmosphere with all the troops trying to win the first prize.

Some Minstrel Singing - ROFL...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98