Haiku Contest #5 — The Results!

in #haiku6 years ago

The results of my latest haiku contest are in and here they are! There were a lot of great entries last time, making me want to split the prizes so that I could reward everyone. I sat on it and thought for awhile, then consulted with @geekorner to get his opinions, then thought some more... and then finally picked the winners. Here they are!

Special Mention

The talented @linnyplant made this non-entry on a post she tagged me in. She and I are re-reading Dune together, so with that on her mind, she wrote:

Hissing sand
Exploding mouth
Worm!

I like it! Next time, let's hope she enters proper.

Honorable Mention

@danbiohackingman

The mountain stands still
Warm to freezing, light to dark
Beginning anew

My comment: I might change "freezing" to "cold" in the second line to better fit with the other words on that line. Otherwise, this is a very lovely image.

3rd Place

@sgt-dan


の花は種になり
死は命です

Aki
no hana wa tane ni nari
shi wa jinseidesu

Autumn
flowers become seeds
death is life

My comment: Props to sgt-dan for also translating to Japanese. The simple observation of the second line leading to a philosophical last line is wonderfully done.

2nd Place

@vdux

Autumn crocus,
Revived from slumber.
A perch for butterflies.

My comment: This is a beautiful image, a slice of life (shasei) as Shiki called it. The transition from the second to third line is fantastic. Very well done.

1st Place

And the 1st place goes to... Drum roll please...

@tomosan

Yellow leaves
Helpless against the wind,
They fall

My comment: This one blew me away. I had to pause and let it sit for a few minutes after reading it. The last line is magical. A well-deserved win here!

Congratulations!

Everyone, thank you so much for entering the contest. I really enjoyed reading all of your entries. You all did a fantastic job and I hope you keep up with your haiku practice.

Stay tuned for the next contest, to be posted before too long. In the meantime, check @vdux's blog for more haiku contest fun. His turn around is faster than mine, so he holds them more often.

Also, if you are into learning more about haiku, check out some of my essays on the small poem:

Thank you all and keep writing haiku!





Hi thereDavid LaSpina is an American photographer lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time. More?
Sort:  

I am honored to have been selected as one of the winners of this contest. Thank you so much for your comment as well. It was the last line of my haiku where I wanted to get the message across.

Many blessings to you and your loved ones there in beautiful Japan. I spent time in Okinawa many years ago. The beauty of the landscape and the people is, to this day, my happy place.

Thanks for the mention! I did try to find a connection within Dune, but I was just blank. It was the worm’s fault in the chapter I was reading...lol

As I said privately, I like your suggested form for the Haiku being one breath.

Haiku in English should just be short verses. No need to pay attention to syllables, just make it short. Aim for one breath.

The Haiku was introduced to me in a writing forum and we all had to do the 17 syllable format. It never made sense why since Japanese speech != English. Taking Kerouac’s approach makes the form much more appealing to me.

Finally, congrats to all the winners and mentions! I enjoyed all the pieces presented. Thank you for the lovely read this morning. ❤️

Congrats to the winners.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for the opportunity to participate in your contest and for kind words. Im very happy, it is a real honor to win such contest. I'm very pleased that haiku reaches an increasing number of readers here on steemit. :)

WHOA! ME????

Wow, thank you, @dbooster. When will we see you enter my haiku contests?


Source

haha love the gif. I will, I will. I intend to, then a kid demands my attention and I lose my focus. If I can stop being so scatterbrained for a few minutes, I will.

I enjoyed reading all the entries, so thanks to David for running it, and thanks to all the entrants who gave me some haiku to dine on :)

And now, since likely only David will see it, my non-entry, for the theme of "Born Again."

Not Quite:

I can finally rest,
after a long and weary journey.
The pull and push of familial din
forces me to rise.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85