Cleaning the Closet - Day 216 - Haiku - on Giving, Charity, and Moving Stuck Energy

in #haiku6 years ago (edited)

20160819_153702 - Spicebush Swallowtails in barn.jpg

Cleaning the closet
is but the precursor to
letting go of stuff

The place where I work has organized a coat drive for charity, and even though I don't have any actual coats to donate, I knew I had a couple of jackets and other warm clothing to add to the mix.

So I chose this evening to go through the stuff in the bottom of my closet, including a very dusty wool sweater, which still fit when I tried it on, but the dust involved now has me wheezing. Ah, the joys of asthma.

But it's worth it in the end, because in addition to the two jackets, I am donating four really nice Christmas sweatshirts, a flannel nightshirt, a pair of pajamas, two t-shirts and several warm scarves. And I have little doubt that I'll find a few more things tomorrow to add to them.

So, for the first time in probably two or three years, the bottom of my closet is organized, neat and tidy. I'll tackle the other one tomorrow. God help me. ;-)

And while I am grateful to be able to have the wherewithal to give to others, the best part is that it will in a very real sense move stuck energy, which will help me to gather momentum and start tackling the harder stuff . . . all the boxes and boxes of things I inherited from both parents and my sister.

The reality is that the hardest thing is to start, so by starting with something as small and doable as the bottom of a single closet, it is setting me on the road to letting go of so much more, which will in turn make room in my life for those things I actually want to draw in, such as my beloved and long-awaited female Newfoundland.

So here's to cleaning out unwanted and unneeded stuff, to keeping only what I love and what brings me joy, to letting go of everything that brings me down, and for using the rest to raise funds to increase and multiply our income streams, and to fund our passion projects.

Just in the few feet of space I cleaned out today I found three of my favorite t-shirts, a pair of pants I've been looking for for months, as well as the aforementioned wool sweater.

I have no doubt I will find many more items I have been missing, will have an easier time giving away many of the things I previously held onto, and and in doing so will progressively lift the massive boulders that have been weighing me down for so long.

Wish me luck in the journey. ;-)

This post, and all those from now until the end of 2018, I am dedicating to the work of #tarc and #yah, aka @rhondak's nonprofit dog rescue and @sircork's charity @youarehope.

Half the liquid proceeds earned from my posts will be evenly split between the two organizations.

The photo above was taken by me a few years ago using the camera in my LG G4 smartphone.

So what does a spicebush butterfly have to do with giving and charity? Not a blessed thing, but they are so beautiful, I didn't think anyone would mind seeing a photo or two of then,

#haiku #tribegloballove #tarc #yah #ecotrain #thewritersblock #smg #ghsc #thirtydayhaikuchallenge #teamgood #steemsugars #teamgirlpowa #womenofsteemit #steemusa #qurator #steemitbasicincome #bethechange #chooselove #photography #neighbors #beauty #love #animals #dogs #rescue #adoption #spayandneuter #homesteading #permaculture #naturalhealing #dogrescue #dogsofsteemit #rabbits #animals #grace #poetry #philosophy #beablessing #naturalremedy #gratitude #abundance #give #family #peace #tranquility #giving #donating #philanthropy #naturalhealing #pets #cryptocurrency #travel #international #culture #tolerance #peacemaking #peacemaker #friendship, #butterfly #spicebushswallowtail #spicebush #yellowtail @bluebutterfly

@edxserverus_5 - TSU Banner.png

SubscriptionPackOwner.png

ecotrain.png

The Writers Block.gif

https://steemitimages.com/0x0/https://tinyurl.com/y93h9wt4

TribeGlobalLove Banner.png

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13