There's a problem with my sight...

in #guns5 years ago

I went shooting on the weekend. It was for fun (as always) and also to test out the feel and effectiveness of the new grips I've installed on my Shadow 2 (CZ) as pictured. The grips replaced the factory ones and are designed to provide a more secure grip on the handgun allowing better recoil management and, therefore, better accuracy. Once home I went through the usual process of cleaning the gun, packing away my gear and making sure that it's ready to roll for next time. It's a ritual I have adhered to for a long time and really is best practice for proper gun maintenance. I also like to be able to throw my gear into a bag at very short notice and know it'll run efficiently and trouble free. I guess that's my prepper nature coming though.

Whilst cleaning the handgun though I was dismayed to notice it was, in fact, damaged. I was devastated considering that I'm not made of money and I knew right away it was going to cost some to rectify.

Below you can see an image I took of the front sight. The red-circled thing. The red bar you see is optic fibre that picks up light making the front sight easy to see in pretty much any conditions. When sighting it actually glows brightly. The black base holding the optic fibre is what's damaged. If you look carefully on the back of the sight you'll see a small raised burr sticking out. That's the damage. It sticks upwards towards the sky when in the gun is in the firing position.

I didn't see it at the range over the weekend, or didn't notice it I should say, and to be honest do not know where the gun picked up the damage. What I know though is that somewhere along the line I damaged it. I know it was me because I never let my guns out of my sight and they're either holstered on my hip or packed away. To say I'm fucking pissed is an understatement!

I'll be shooting the Victorian IPSC State Titles in February, the next important match so it'll be fixed by then but it'll cost some money and inconvenience. I ordered the part today which cost me $70AU + shipping and should be here within a few days. I'll fit it myself and then will have to check the guns' zero (aim) to make sure it's still true and correct. (i.e. shooting where I point it and grouping well.)

I was considering taking it to a gunsmith and getting the burr taken off as an interim-fix however it didn't seem right being a precision instrument and all. In case anyone is actually reading this and wondering why such a small defect could make a difference...Well, at close range it doesn't but once the range reaches out further the burr could affect my accuracy. When shooting the front sight is what the eye focuses on, not the back sights or even the actual target. At longer ranges that burr could actually conceal the target somewhat causing a miss.

I'm pretty annoyed with myself for damaging the gun and wish I knew exactly when it occurred however I don't so all I can do is try and be more careful. It's not the first time I've had damaged firearms but it always annoys me. This gun cost me $2000 to buy and shooting it costs a lot more in equipment and ammunition so incurring additional costs like this never sits well with me. Oh well, it was my fault so I'll have to cop it I guess. Another lesson learned, the hard way.

Sort:  

Did you pistol whip the next guy who said, shenanigans?

Haha...You know it!

Posted using Partiko Android

I guess not knowing where or when it happened is the most disconcerting thing, because you don't know how to prevent it happening again, other than being extra vigilant when using it. It could be something as simple as clipping a buckle or stud when drawing it out of the holster, but you just don't know.

I guess the slightest bump out on the course could also throw the whole sight out as well, so hopefully it doesn't happen again to you.

All the best for your prepping for the State comp.

You're right, it's so frustrating. I think maybe it happened whilst holstered. Sometimes people push past people at the range and guns collide in the holsters. Maybe that. I'm not sure though. It could be anything. It's never been dropped or had anything drop on it so I'm really at a bit of a loss.

It'll get fixed and my prep will continue minus $70+ shipping.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is bad. Baad. BAAAAAAD!! You really might need a gun. Because of the deer out there. So consider yourself warned and I hope you get a new one soon.

Haha, love it!

Urgh sorry, man :/ That sucks...But hey, don't beat yourself up about it too much. I'm sure this sort of thing happens.

Yeah, it happens sometimes. It's a bummer. I'll make it right though. I'm good like that. Dependable.

Posted using Partiko Android

I trust you are ;)

Hope you get it fixed OK.

Posted using Partiko Android

It'll happen...And then I might be able to shoot straight! 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

If I remember correctly, you use an open-bottomed speed holster? Like you said in another comment it could have been contact with another person. I would check the inside of the holster or case you carry it in to make sure there isn't a foreign object or damage to the holster/case that may have caused it. Trust me, I know how heart-breaking this can be!

Yes, that's right. I think that's the only viable explanation. I mean I'd know if I dropped it. The new part should've here soon so it'll all be ok. I'm more annoyed at myself for damaging it somehow than the money of fixing it.

AYyy I can see how that could be a problem with long range shots yes..

I see your need for precision, I would file that off somehow instead of blowing the cash. lol

Practice?!

It would have been possibly to do so and I almost did. Still, I thought I'd get it fixed up properly though. Do it right the first time.

That sucks. It's no fun when you break something and don't know how you did it. Makes it that much harder to keep from doing it again. I'm impressed that you're going to expensive way to buy the new part rather than getting rid of the burr. Good luck at the competition next month!

I'd rather not spend the money but I figured I'd get it done the right way...I'm going without breakfasts at my friend's cafe each morning to pay for it.

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.404 which ranks you at #2206 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 344 places in the last three days (old rank 2550).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #51.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30