I Got A New Gibson SG!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #guitar6 years ago

title.png

So I posted a few months back about my old Gibson SG breaking. I tried another time to glue it again with epoxy, but that didn't hold either. I'll be trying another time or two with something different but it might be a lost cause. No harm in trying again though as the guitar is worthless now anyway.



Anyway, while we were on vacation in July, @inkpixie picked me up a new guitar in Sydney.

A new Gibson SG, in fact!

20180907_203459_HDR.png

I haven't really played it too much because it's still very much summer and there are other things to do right now. But, I picked it up the other night and gave it a good going over.

20180907_203510_HDR.png

I ended up making this little song with my loop pedal that turned out not half bad considering I winged the whole thing. The guitar sounds great, though. I'm not sure how long the strings have been on there, but the guitar will probably sound even better with a fresh set.

20180907_203323.png

I've been using Reaper instead of ProTools lately and it seems to be working really well for basic recordings. It took me a little while to get used to it but it seems like a really powerful DAW considering it's free unless I want to pay for it - which I probably will because it's less than $100.

One other thing I was also thinking about was Choon.co. It will be great when they get an embeddable player made so it's possible to share music on other sites, like SoundCloud, without having to actually go to the site. I suppose DSound needs this feature, too. This one feature will really boost the accessibility of the site to non-members who already know about it. Of course it will also be great to be able to sell the 'notes' earned from Choon too, but it's not bad having them accumulate right now even if it isn't possible to sell them yet. It's just a matter of time before both of those happen, I bet.

Sort:  

giphy (51).gif
You just got splashed by @rewards-pool. For more information on delegating to the @rewards-pool click the following link.
https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@rewards-pool/introduction-to-rewards-pool
@rewards-pool where a small delegation can get you a big splash.

it sounds amazing! must be because of the skilled player :)

Hot damn!! Sounds amazing and looks exactly like the kind of Gibson I would love to own!!!

Reaper you say and free? I have been looking for something to get a basic recording down that was free or cheap. You like it a lot then.

Track sounds great! It's got a real beef to the bottom end!

Yeah, it's completely free and it's really a powerful program. You can pay $85 for a license if you want to help them out, but there is no obligation or limits on the program if you don't buy it. There are some things in it that are a bit hard to figure out. I just looked anything I couldn't figure out how to do on YouTube and it all worked out.

Donwloaded it, gonna get looking tomorrow. Hope it works with my guitar interface thingymbob ok!

great collection, and your new Gibson sounds perfect! :) I mostly like your room, great place. awesome tracks on soundcloud, who was singing on the third track in the list? a song titled 2016

Thanks @davidfar. The singer was from my old band, Magnum Opus. We managed to get some pretty decent recordings recorded before we went our separate ways. I've got all the songs we managed to get recorded on Choon if you wanted to check more of them out.

That was awesome, I will follow you there when I get back home.

SG owners unite ! :D Such a unique frequency response that guitar has ! I love the honky resonant sound of the SG's , and yours sounds wonderful ! Keep rocking :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79