You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gridcoin - The Cryptocurrency with the Power to Drive Modern Science

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)

Welcome to Steemit, @dutch! Great article - upvoted, promoted and resteemed. Every Proof-of-Work miner should read this.

Does your lab/university has its own BOINC project, or is maybe thinking about setting up one? Gridcoin community can help you with that.

P.S. You can also use #beyondbitcoin tag for your Gridcoin related articles. That way, they'll reach wider crypto audience (more views, more upvotes).

Sort:  

Thank you! I appreciate the feedback . =)

We do not have a BOINC project for our lab as of yet, although we should seriously consider the possibility of using the platform to run the numbers. Something to pitch to the Professor over the next week. I will keep the community posted if we get our project added to BOINC.

Cool, if you need any help regarding how to get a BOINC project setup, don't hesitate to ask any of us :)

Interesting post on GPU mining, can I ask you for some numbers, could you approximate if it's worthwhile running a single GPU to mine some coins. Can it earn like 10Grids per day :D I'm missing my 5 7970 :D also is there a correlation between the benchmark numbers on GPU's and their results mining.

++ following both of you :)

  1. A single GPU can certainly still earn 10 GRC per day (probably even 40-50, if it's high-end).

  2. There is a correlation between benchmark numbers and mining, FP32 performance usually being the most important (but not always, some projects depend on FP64).

Are you free for chat, I just started some Boinc stuff :) and I'm still e-learning everything, currently doing some 4core task :D when I wanted to GPU mine :D Could you help me with the setup. I saw you were mining the Milkyway too :)

Join the gridcoin and boinc telegram groups:
https://t.me/gridcoin
https://t.me/BOINC_Telegram

sounds fun, are there free 500 coins like in the videos :D I'm needing some 5000 coins :D

help me :D I do wish there was a free gridcoin just waiting in the wallet after it synced in. Or something, how much work equals a GRC ? or is it just a problem of the uphill start.

If not can you help with some basics, first of all how do i differentiate tasks, GPU/CPU how can I setup different projects, can they work in tandem, some numbers like Prefferable free space, other such details. I'd lie to run this for at least 4 hours a day and at least make some gains, for those 70C my CPU gets at :D

  1. You differentiate tasks at your project's website. When you log in to your account there, you can choose to crunch CPU and/or GPU tasks
  2. You can work at many projects at the same time. BOINC automatically balances the workload and requests more work, as necessary
  3. 1 GB is plenty of HDD space for most projects

I saw the videos (half of them) of the gridcoin and saw that I can edit the preferences of the project, can I run the same project twice one for GPU and one for CPU? My GPU isn't working, but it's probably because of the task, also since I don't ave a GRC wallet, will my tasks get counted, they are over 50% at the moment.

Got the GRC app, going to get the blocks now and hopefully not find my pc melted on the floor wen I get back, the room is already heating up with the nice air :) I need to dust my PC :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22