You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gridcoin GPU mining (9): 62537488^32768+1 is prime!

in #gridcoin7 years ago

Nice trick with the resource share, gonna remember that.

Question though: can you safely throttle gpu usage? I find it very weird and a shame you can't adjust it in the boinc client. I got an idle gtx 1060 in a 15 inch laptop, so as you can expect the thermals aren't great at all. It goes nuts when I assign gpu time. So only cpu work :-/

Sort:  

Yes, you can't throttle GPU usage through BOINC, but you can use various GPU utilities to do that (reduce the operating frequencies, power limits, voltages). I use MSI Afterburner for tweaking my GPUs, I wrote about it here (it's about overclocking, but you can downclock just as easily):

https://steemit.com/gridcoin/@vortac/gridcoin-gpu-mining-8-to-the-edge-and-beyond

Thanks! I'll take a look.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59101.88
ETH 2521.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47