Bicycling towards cryptocurrency, a short day in the life of a Gridcoin evangelist.

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)

 

This is just one of the things I have come across when bicycling around. I was looking for directions on a kiosk where I found the bold words standing out to people passing by on Lake Calhoun. Does anyone lay claim to putting it there or knows who did? I'm curious.

Bicycling towards cryptocurrency, a short day in the life of a Gridcoin evangelist.

The morning is Saturday, May 27, 2017. At the time of writing this the price of Bitcoin, at a glance, hovers around $1920 and appears to be going down. The price of STEEM appears to be falling with it at around $0.70 (0.00037 BTC). I have my morning coffee espresso and I'm getting ready for going out to buy Bitcoin. The day before I wanted to buy Bitcoin at an ATM, one of the only two I know of. However, being busy attending a Beyond Bitcoin Hangout I spent most of the day there. I was also tired from riding about 42 miles the previous day. So, it was nice to have a rest day. I primarily use bicycling as a means of getting around the Twin Cities of Minnesota. Minneapolis and St. Paul aren't too hard to commute via bicycle.


First of all, I'm not a vegan. Please don't hurt me. I just ate a few of these servings of French toast and honey with sausage for breakfast. Quickly I had a shower and more coffee espresso before I go because it will all help wake me up and/or feel fresh for a ride. I have now planned out the route I will take to the ATM and it should be well over 20 miles there and about the same distance on the way back. I might end up riding 50 miles today, piece of cake. The longer that I ride the more I feel the weight I carry with me. Which, is why I like to travel with as little as possible.

I enjoyed a nice ride up through Minneapolis along the Mississippi River. The downtown streets will have bike lanes for me to choose from, but nothing beats the scenic views of a river ride. Living in the midwest I sometimes miss the ocean and the closest thing to that we have are thousands of lakes to choose from here in Minnesota. 

I found my way to a hole-in-the-wall cash checking shop in the not-so-great-part-of-town. No problem, other than the fact I didn't feel like going through with actually buying any Bitcoin there. I came all this way out here just to take a picture, almost. Although, I did have a nice ride back and now I know where to buy Bitcoin locally here without having to deal with another person or some exchange. I had to hurry back just to participate in the bi-weekly Gridcoin Hangouts.

A day later, at a glance, Bitcoin is $2150 and STEEM is about $0.95 alongside everything else, which, all seem to be going back up again after negative downtrends across many markets. Thanks for reading/looking! I'm not sure if I will continue doing these things, but I thought I would start doing more with steemit.

Too bad the fancy Strava iframe blog widget doesn't work here, oh well. Strava or it never happened, so they say: https://www.strava.com/activities/1008548262

Edit: A word.

Sort:  

This was fun to read, thanks for posting. I'm impressed with your biking! That's a lot of miles! I think the most I've biked in one day is only like 15 miles, I'm more of a hiker.

I visited Minnesota for the first time a few summers ago. I didn't make it into the city, but I went to Voyageurs National Park and I spent a little time at the headwaters of the Mississippi (Itasca State Park): http://imgur.com/cCabhzp

It might be the midwest, but I think it's one of the best parts of the midwest, lots of forests, lots of lakes, etc...

If you're into rap music, you have atmosphere to be proud of too!

I'm glad that you liked it. Thank you. Hiking is probably my second favorite thing to bicycling. To be fair, you didn't miss out on much if you went to northern Minnesota, like, the Boundary Waters Canoe Area (BWCA). I think your picture there in Itasca is a good example of what most of the state can look like. Except, the further north you go the more untouched everything seems to be and the closer you are to the wilderness. People fly in from around the world just for the BWCA because it is one of the few places in the world with untouched wilderness.

Yes, I have a vinyl record album by them. They are really good, not really as good live, IMHO lol... Just so happens that today is Rhymesayers' hiphop/rap festival, Soundset 2017, and they could not have asked for better weather to have at the state fairgrounds. I was tempted to preorder tickets because it is fun, but years ago the last time I went they got pretty rained out.

I'm usually disappointed when I go to live shows. They usually sound pretty shitty. I guess it's more about just being there as opposed to enjoying the music, lol. Maybe it's just rap music that sounds bad live, I don't know.

I didn't put that up there.. but that's awesome! Aloha!

Congratulations @fkinglag! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @fkinglag! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @fkinglag! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @fkinglag! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87