Introduction

in #girl7 years ago (edited)

So here I am! I always wanted to write memoirs (well ever since I was 11 and fell in love with memoir books) and I have kept diaries since I was 12. I planned to start publishing them when I turned 30, which felt like ages away! By that time, I thought, none of my friends would care anymore if I shared their secrets in its course. I am almost 31 and may as well start fulfilling this dream!

The issue is though, my diaries are written in Russian. I am Russian after all. Although I have lived in Australia for years now after growing up in Japan. People say it's cool but all it does is make your life more complicated! Anyway, I will try to translate my diaries as I write. Some bits may not make too much sense due to language differences. Also, keep in mind that I start out as a 12 year old- it's really cute how silly and naiive I once was!

A bit of background.. I was born in Russia -USSR back then, just in an average family. I had no siblings or friends really and kept to myself but was absolutely happy. I had my books and drawing pens and bricks. And records with my favourite songs. And I could run around the big garden at the grandparents' and play on the swings grandpa made for me. Then pick some raspberries off the bush when I got hungry. It was a wonderland.

When I was 7, parents moved to Japan. With me and my baby brother. Life there was different. I had to pick up the language and learn how to live with being stared at all the time. Was not easy at all for a little girl. But one has to survive..

Anyway! Fastforward to 1999. Me being 12. Got my dad to buy me a little blue cloth-covered diary with a tiny padlock. I promised myself I will write every day so that I can create a habit. Hope you can enjoy following my struggles discovering who I am and the world around me.pic2b (2).jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! I think it would be cool to read memoirs with some who had to bridge several different cultures in her life.

I look forward to reading your posts! I too was (and still am) an avid keeper of notebooks. I started at age 7! I agree it's crazy to see your childhood thoughts as an adult!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59005.68
ETH 2516.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48