Separating and Up-potting Grape Cuttings that Took Root

in #ghsc6 years ago

Its a good time to separate our grape cuttings that have taken root.

I'll show you just how simple this is! Getting 4 new grape plants was literally as simple as grabbing grape cuttings, sticking them in the soil, keeping it moist and waiting several months and then there are new grape plants!

IMG_20180818_144051.jpg

We received these grape cuttings at a seed and scion exchange earlier this spring. They got stuck in a pot with potting soil and kept moist. It's incredible that several of the cuttings created roots on their own!

This fall would be a good time to get grape cuttings from a friend (help them prune their grapes), neighbor/community gardener or a nursery that offers cuttings.

IMG_20180818_143427.jpg

I have been keeping an eye from time to time on these grape cuttings and watching their buds swell in the spring and early summer. Then leaves finally began forming. I wanted to be sure the growth I saw on top was from new roots and not just from the energy in the twigs. When the leaf growth started to become large, vibrant and strong I knew that there must be roots providing energy to the grapes.

IMG_20180818_143445.jpg

I gently brought the cuttings out of the pot with the soil. It was easy to do just by loosening the soil from the sides of the pot (yogurt container with holes cut in the bottom) by squeezing on it. Then I pulled it out gently.

Sure enough I could see the roots right away.

IMG_20180818_143540.jpg

The roots have made some serious growth and yet not so much that they crowded eachother in the pot. The pot was not rootbound. So this is good timing to put the grapes in their own pots and allow them to spread out.

IMG_20180818_143546.jpg

Four of the eigh grapes are doing very well. Unfortunately the other four haven't rooted or leafed out yet. Actually it looks like some of them may have started rooting out. In any case none of them are completely dried out and dead so I will keep them for now in case they are able to hang on and live.

IMG_20180818_143732.jpg

The grapes are placed in a pot partially filled with soil (about 1/4 to 1/3 full). The grape plant is held in place and upright. I then scoop soil in the pot and around the roots and stem of the grape vine. The soil must be brought up above all the roots and can be higher. Then I press down the soil gently to reduce the airspace and hold the roots firmly in place.

IMG_20180818_144026.jpg

Here they are all potted up. The 4 stragglers share their old pot for now.

Thanks for reading! Wishing you abundance in your garden :)



Proudly Contributing To:

ghscollective_logo-01-1.png
#ghsc | Introducing @ghscollective | Discord Community


natural-medicine-banner.jpg

#naturalmedicine | Introducing @naturalmedicine | Discord Community

Sort:  

that is the one I never get success for planting it, I have tried many time planting the grape cuttings. btw how are you @sagescrub?

Oh no, I am sorry to hear that. This is our first time trying and we got 50% success. I am doing good... busy of course with food harvest and enjoying some steem time tonight! Thanks for asking :)

Not really a big deal, since grapes is not really our origin plant, so it need to have different temperature, what some people have here is the green and really acid one. LOL...

I almost finish with harvesting time for rice, but I dont have rice field so I am planting Green Mustard, peas, tomato and papaya right now

Yes, I also had trouble getting my winter cuttings to root. They leafed out in the Spring, and I thought for sure they had signs of small root growth. Then they just fizzled out in Summer, and became goners.

When I go to the propogation fair in Salem next year, I'll be sure to ask the experts when is the right time of year in our area to start cuttings for grapes.

What kind of varieties are you having the best success with? Are some kinds easier to start from cuttings?

I think I had similar experience with some of our grapes that started root growth and leaf growth and then fizzled - that happened to a few of those 4 but I am holding on in case they can make it anyway. I think I neglected watering the nursery one or two days too late after it got majorly hot and these smaller than 1 gal yogurt containers dried out faster than the 1 gallon pots.

What kind of varieties are you having the best success with? Are some kinds easier to start from cuttings?

I couldn't tell you the answer to that.. I am very new to grape propagation and know next to nothing about the cultivars.

Maybe try more cuttings next year for better chance of success and keep it somewhere shady/cool until they get going?

Yes, that makes a lot of sense. I know with apple scions, they recommend refrigerating the cuttings until it is the right time of year.

When I do my grape pruning is usually in January, when it is fully dormant, and freezing temperatures at night. By leaving the scions dormant in a cold place, maybe it will help it to build up more energy for roots in the Spring. Last year I tried planting some outside in pots with sand and rocks, but they just seemed too weak to adapt to the change of season. And the ones I forced to start indoors did not much like the lack of sunlight. I kind of think Late April, or Early May might be the sweet spot for planting cuttings.

I do admire your skills. I always have plans to do things like this and I do do them and then I let the pots dry out and then they die. My favourite ones are when I just put a cutting in the ground and they grow. Pomegranate, and blackcurrant and elder trees have all worked like this for me. Now that's my kind of gardening hahaha. Don't get me wrong I'm not a bad gardener but I don't have these skills.

That's a pretty good way to get more grape vines. :-)
I was trimming my grape vines last summer and decided to stick a couple of the vines in my aquaponics growing medium to see what would happen. I didn't know if they would live because they had leaves on them already, but they must have liked the water because they rooted in the grow medium. When I pulled them out in the fall, they had nice root balls.

Your grapes look great @sagescrub! I recently heard about your seeds from @nateonsteemit in the GHSC chat! I’ve signed up and now following your journey on steemit as well!

Thanks @underthekiltfarm aka Robert

Congratulations @sagescrub! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97