You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Building a Geothermal Greenhouse

in #geothermal8 years ago

Hey Steve I literally just found about geothermal greenhouses a few days ago and have been trying to find someone that has tested out the design here locally and here you are!
Do you think the geothermal hoses would be able to handle the temps if the plastic sheets were doubled up and inflated like the user LDSprepper on youtube?
Also is your trench size equivelant to the cubic space of your greenhouse?
Do you think it would help having extra hose length undergound to displace the extra high temps we experience?
I see your yard isn't very big to support all the extra digging required.
I have a lot of questions so maybe it would be easier to communicate via email. [email protected] is my address. cheers bud

Sort:  

As long as heat is not being lost I am sure the pipes would eventually heat up the greenhouse. I was getting the air to increase about 9 to 10 degrees F when the intake was around freezing. I don't know much about how trench size would effect the heating and cooling properties. I really came up with this idea out of my head and just went for it. I found very little information about it on the internet until after I had built it. Curtis Stone who is in Canada built a really good passive solar greenhouse but I think it cost him around $30,000 CAD.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58956.47
ETH 2517.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48