Rock and mineral macro video: 2 Small quartz crystal clusters

in #geology6 years ago


Even though these are small crystals, they are really cool to look at up close. This first one has some kind of iron in it. Maybe even Sulfur due to the bright yellow pieces. It might be Manganese but thats usually more black / orange. Its a really pretty crystal plate, I find it at Diamond Hill Mine. It mostly has Iron Oxides in it and Smokey quartz type crystal. I might run it through some rust off but I have not decided yet.

The second stone has more black spots in it, making me think it has Manganese but there is a lack of Orange so hard to say for sure. It looks like this stone was split off from a larger stone. I think it was a "throw away".. hah Ill take it! Scouting areas where other rockhounds have been are great places to find lesser stones. Of course once they have left, never raid another rockhounds site if they are still there.

Both were found at the Diamond Hill Mine in South Carolina, they have many kinds of stone to be found in piles. Sometimes the owner will move around dirt with their big machines. Those are called "machine digs" which you can find great stones far down beneath where most people search.

#gems #crystals #quartz #learning #education #writing


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I definitely like the first one better but the second one looks beautiful too. Good video bro.

@gandalfthewhite

The first rock has more pronounced crystals, thanks. Im using a camcorder setup with two lights on both sides overhead. I cut out when it gets out of focus so glad you like it.

I really like these pronounced crystals of that rock. Nice find.
Good job man.

@gandalfthewhite

Thanks! Yeah they sure are, they come in all different sizes.

I really like these
Pronounced crystals of that rock.
Nice find. Good job man.

                 - gandalfthewhite


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Dear @haikubot,
What is that for? Thanks for citing, my friend.
Yours truly, Gandalf The White

Nice specimen! Are they a lot of crystals found in South Carolina?

@cosmiccrimes

Yes there are, the area is filled with mountains and unique geology. I plan to check out many digsites in the area in the future. Ill share them when I do.

After infrared photography, this rock and mineral video is amazing.

@akdx

thanks for the feedback, I am curious what content is liked the most.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86