Rock and mineral macro video: Quartz with blue bands and shiny black dots of minerals.

in #geology6 years ago


I found this quartz crystal with a blue band going around one side, and patches speckles of some shiny black dots in different areas on the stone. These could be Rutile as its a known Mineral for Graves Mountain. The brown stains on the crystal are probably Iron or Manganese or some other deposit, it has alot going on here.

That blue band may be Kyanite, Lazulite or maybe Lapis Lazuli but its hard to say. And those black dots may be Rutile, as that is common at Graves Mountain. Well common for an exotic mineral, if it is Rutile then thats the most I have ever found in a few visits to Graves Mountain. So that may be Rutile growing on the smokey quartz.

By Googling Graves Mountain rocks it helped me figure out what I found. The blueish stone is very common but more rare when found on quartz samples.

Thanks for the great animation @nevlu123

#gems #crystals #quartz #learning #education #writing


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

And another beautiful specimen. I'm jealous, a little. :D

@gandalfthewhite

Being a wizard it would suit you quite well, ive seen these crystals topping staffs so im sure you would make great use of it.

Do you practice stones?

@setik-001

If you are talking about healing with crystals or manipulating their power no. I am mostly into their exotic minerals and its fun for me to dig around for them.

Thank you for the informative answer.

Beautiful crystal friend.
its look precious...

@tussar11

glad you like it, if its Rutile then it is precious. Well depends on how you define precious I guess.

thanks for the comment and upvote.

You are welcome friend.

@momzillanc

thanks! I did not know what I had til I looked at it close up with my camera.. hah

Thank you for your comments and explanations for me

@fikar21

no problem if you have any questions just ask. thanks for resteeming my post!

What a beautiful crystal, do you have it on display? I am very impressed with your geological knowledge that was one of my worst grades in college!

@balticbadger

Sure is! In the case of this stone yeah we keep it out to show people. But in general no I dont have a good place to keep all of them, so i cleared out an old filing cabinet and store them in there.

Hah everything ive learned is from Youtube, Wikipedia, Rockhounding forums and talking with people. I dont think im fit for college, better at learning through life.

Well, it's definitely working out for you! You post very educated material, which I why I always appreciate your posts. You're going to have to invest in a display case for all those nice rocks. Have a great Sunday!

Beautiful crystal friend and
its look lovely ...! @solominer

Wish I knew more about rocks and minerals. But growing up on a sandbar. LI, NY didn't have any around to peak my interest. Have a good day.

@manorvillemike

Yeah but maybe you can find some cool shells at least. I am lucky near where I live is such active Geology. Being near the Appalachians mountains probably has something to do with that.

thanks you too.

Thank you for liking one of my photos. By the way, I love crystals.

@cosmiccrimes

No problem, the view of the mountains reminds me of the view near me.

Sweet, if you have any you should share some pictures.

I do have some posted. Thanks.

Thank you for liking
One of my photos. By the
Way, I love crystals.

                 - cosmiccrimes


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

great sample of presious stones, that is my favorite. Your information is very useful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28