Rocks & Fossils presentation

in #geology6 years ago

Today I had the privilege of doing a minerals and fossils presentation for the third grade classes at Nancy Lopez Elementary School here in Roswell NM.
20180425_130456_HDR.jpg
This was the third presentation I've done for this particular school. I've done two others.
We started out with discussing the three classifications of rocks and minerals: sedimentary, Igneous, and metamorphic.
These kids are very smart. Not only did they know the classifications, but were able to define them;
Sedimentary - Minerals formed from sediment deposits
Igneous - Minerals formed from extreme heat such as volcanoes or vents(geysers)
Metamorphic - Minerals that have changed from one form to another.
20180425_125934.jpg
20180425_125517.jpg
I presented each classification as I listed them previously. As I went through the different classes I showed how they are interrelated with each other thus explaining why we have such a wide diversity of rocks and minerals in the world.
The students were quite inquisitive and constantly asked questions, which I didn't mind, but cut into the time we were allowed for the presentation. We quickly went through each of the items I had on display, then allowed the students to come up single file and check out the specimens up close. The kids loved it and some come back after they were dismissed to check the rocks out again and ask more questions as I was packing things up. I enjoy teaching the kids and seeing the smiles and eyes light up with all the colorful and interesting specimens we had there.
The teacher and students presented me with a large card to show their appreciation.
20180425_150232_HDR.jpg
20180425_150251_HDR.jpg
I will be displaying this in a prominent location at our store.

Sort:  

What a nice activity! Must be awesome to share your passion which such a bunch of interactive and interested kids. And that card is really sweet!

Thank you. It's fun and to see their faces so enthralled is an added bonus. They're already talking about doing another summer day school event.

This is very awesome to present actual thing in front of child that make the student to visualize and learning. Although this is good. I think child are too happy today because I m also curious to see this.

Your post has been personally reviewed and was considered to be a well written article.
You received a 80.0% upvote since you are a member of geopolis and wrote in the category of "geology".

To read more about us and what we do, click here.
https://steemit.com/geopolis/@geopolis/geopolis-the-community-for-global-sciences-update-4

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27