A larger version of the ugly rock

in #geology6 years ago (edited)

I've had a couple people ask if I knew what kind of rock in my last post was. I believe it is a hematite aggregate. I found a larger version which I now post.
20180816_122702 (2).jpg
20180816_122649 (2).jpg

It is massively larger than the last rock.
20180817_124619 (3).jpg

I did a little cleaning of the smaller stone with muriatic acid. It got rid of the calcite between the nodules
20180817_120530_HDR (2).jpg
20180817_124030_HDR (2).jpg

It also exposed some white opal between the nodules
20180817_124238_HDR (2).jpg
So remember: even ugly rocks can be cool!

Sort:  

Beautiful photos!
In my opinion, there are no ugly stones, there are only strange stones :-)
I really liked the stone on the first photo!
I don `t know, if you saw, but on the first photo on a stone the muzzle of the dog is clearly visible!
Take a closer look:
the lower gray part of the stone - on it are 2 brown eyes, a nose and light ears.
And in one eye there is even a black pupil of the eye!

Help me a little. Are you talking about the first photo of this post or the previous one? I get people seeing images on our rocks on a regular basis. We even have one at our store with a small sign saying; "What do you see?"

:-)
I mean this post.
And the first photo of this post.
And now you see, what I wrote about?

I see it! Putting out another post inspired by you :-). It'll be a quick one. Working on it now.

I'm glad that you saw!
Often happen:
I see, other* - no ...
But after I describe - they see :-)

That is possible, I always think of hematite in the form that's used to make jewellery, forgetting about the red kind

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

I beleive it is a hematite agregate.
It should be believe instead of beleive.

Thanks for the correction. I meant to go back to that but forgot.
But you missed aggregate; spelled with two Gs. I also meant to go back to that one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34