The rarest gemstone in the World is Bixbite (red emerald)!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gemstone5 years ago

The hardest gem quality gemstones to find is red beryl, also known as red emerald; which is called Bixbite.

Very little material is clean enough to cut for gemstone. That which is found, is small enough that small stones are all that can be faceted. A one mm diameter clean gemstone is considered large.

Here is a picture of clean Bixbite gemstones from my collection. Two of these are two mm stones! The container they are in is a one inch diameter gem storage unit.

20190313_200256.jpg

And here:
20190313_200251.jpg

I am hoping to make a set of ear rings from them. If I succeed, they will be the only jewelry I have ever heard of using natural, clean, Bixbite. The only stuff I have seen in jewelry, uses lab created Bixbite.

Wish me luck, LOL.

Sort:  

luck? luck ain't got nothin to do with it smithlabs. furthermore, you need to get some photos of those that we can actually see. jeez. freakin rednecks.

Most (non red neck) people just expand the picture and look at the stones.

:)>

Just for you.20190317_001834.jpg

hahaha! thanks sir smithlabs, now I can see what they are!

For Bixbite these are huge stones, LOL! But they are pretty, with a lot of fire. The faceters did a good job on these stones.

:)>

Sir smithlabs! so jewelry makers make jewelry out of them? If I went into a jewelry store and asked to see a piece with bixbite would they have any?

Wow! Where you get them? Are they expensive?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Two decades of collecting, and they are HARD to get, in any size! No set place, except never buy from China, they are not trustworthy on gemstones. The smallest one here is worth $100, the largest five times that.

You can find nasty ones, they facet everything they can, even if it is unfit to facet. Finding a clean one is very difficult.

:)>

Going to the gold and gem show and get to kick it in the vendors parking lot. Gonna be awesome content coming...

Posted using Partiko Android

Those shows got a lot more expensive when Debbie started coming along, ROFLOL! She has SO much fun! Some will not allow cameras, who knows why....

Where is this gem show? How did you steal a parking permit for the vendor lot?

Ask them for Natural Bixbite, and let me know how many even know what it is, I am curious.

You planning to pick up several pounds of gold, with your pocket change?

The last one I went to I got some dreamy 8mm black cultured pearls, I still need to string them though.

Be Blessed, and enjoy the show!

:)>

Well I'm part of the group putting on the gold and gem show! So I get all 3 days for free! Besides help with setup. And tear down.

But being a member of the gold mining group I'll get to hang out with the cool peoples! And definitely excited to see the cool technology that's gonna be there.

Let alone maybe get to go visit new goldmining friends!

Posted using Partiko Android

Don't ignore the gemstones, some of them can be impressive. There is one hard rock gold mine that sells jewelry made from the quartz matrix with gold veining, for stones.

Fun times!

:)>

Hope it works out and are they very expensive?

Posted using Partiko Android

Me too, and yes they are worth more than diamonds.

I am having trouble finding the gold findings (I wonder if that is why they call them findings). to fit what is normally considered a small stone. They mostly stop at 3mm.

I may have to cast my own, and smaller sizes are always harder. So we shall see....

:)>

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15