Another Cereus Bloom

in #gems3 years ago

1.jpg

The Cereus cactus is a species of cactus whose flower only blooms at night. Commonly known as the Night Blooming Cereus, or Queen of the Night, it is also known by other names such as the Princess of the Night or Lady Cereus, and Orchid Cactus.

To see this flower in full bloom, one has to stay up late. Blooming typically happens after sunset and it will be fully bloomed by midnight. Some called the flower a 'majestic waterlily". The flower has a nice fragrant which some describe as "resembling magnolia or gardenia". Unfortunately, it will start to wilt after reaching full bloom. By morning, the flower will have wilted.

My 'queen of the night' is somewhat special from the others in that this queen of mine behaves differently from those I read about online. Online reports said that night blooming cereus blooms only once year, or during the summer months It also said that it needs to be watered only once a week.

My Cereus blooms every few months - much more than the once a year reported. I water it so much, sometimes it is literally soaked in water. And as far as I can tell, my queen is quite happy with that.

I must say my queen is doing very well despite the limitations of space and my treatment of it. Hence, every time it blooms, I will take pictures of it and do a post. My way of thanking it for working so tirelessly, blooming often. It is very satisfying indeed to see it bloom.

The day before it was due to bloom.
1a.jpg

This was about eight in the evening. The blooming process has started.
2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

Branches that are modified stems. There were 3 buds on this stem alone. Two of the buds died. I guess it is too much for a single stem to carry all three to maturity.
9.jpg

There were six buds. Only four made it to maturity. Two bloomed in one night and the other two, the night after.
10.jpg

11.jpg

This was the following evening. Two of the buds were beginning to bloom, and the two that bloomed the night before have wilted.
12.jpg

13.jpg

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ th (1) - Copy.jpg ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you for stopping by. If you like the post, please give it a vote. Follow me if you like to read about Life, Humour and Aphorisms. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34