Help! My coriander has gone to seed!!

in #gardening5 years ago

05B2930C-0AF5-4399-8E8C-53725990DB6C.jpeg

“Calling all green thumbs!!”

Hey Friends! Please help me! My incredible patch of coriander plants have gone to seed and I don’t know what to do!!

These coriander plants have provided us with a whole season of Mexican food, curries, guacomale and the occasional snack and I’m sad to see them finish their lives!!!

76779D9A-4C5E-4DB5-BC18-14BB1423E30C.jpeg

Is this the end?

Do I rip them out? Leave them as-is?

Please help this newbie wanna-be Gardner 🙌😁

Thankyou so much!!
Jessi 🌱

Sort:  

Regular coriander is a short-lived annual and it tends to bolt in hot weather. Or just when it feels like it. Which is why it's usually planted in succession. But even that won't guarantee a constant supply. So yes, once they set seed they are done.

Harvest the seeds as they turn ripe (brown) usually you cut off the whole heads and put them in a paper bag to dry without losing them. Use them ground up in baked goods. Plant some of them, save some of them for next season. And while you have some green leaves chop them up and freeze them with a little water. Not as good as fresh but better than not having any! Or try growing some indoors by a sunny window until you can plant it outside.

Oh my goodness thankyou SO much!!! That is so helpful 🙏🙏🙏 I’m excited to save the seeds...I’ve never done that before!

Happy to help! From the looks of your plants you won't need to buy coriander seed for a long time! Much better fresh (dried) from your garden. I don't know if you use it as a spice in your cooking? It's good with a lot of savory dishes, I've used it when making cucumber pickles and corned beef. But for something sweet you might like this recipe. (My MIL is Norwegian and she makes these. But with sugar, not honey. Just be sure to grind the seeds to a powder. Oh, and toast them in a pan a little before your grind them.)
https://www.valleytable.com/recipe/norwegian-honey-coriander-cookies

Ohhhh thankyou so much! I haven’t used coriander seed in sweet recipes before! Will have a look thankyou 😊😊

I also make basic sugar cookies with a big pinch of ground thyme stirred in. They are so good and people can tell something is different but can't guess what it is! Fun with herbs!

Ohhhhh yum!!!! Great ideas!!! 😋

Coriander is horrid. You should burn them all and plant something nice.

I agree with this statement. I'll happily come around with the flamethrower. I won't even charge Jessi!

😂😂😂 you either love it or hate it!!!

I wish I have a green thumb like yours. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87