Some Things Are Better Left Uneaten: Wild Lupin (Lupinus polyphyllus)

in #gardening5 years ago

IMG_5730_01.jpg

I planted a few wild lupin seeds in my garden a few years ago and before I knew it they were on a mission to take over the world.

Even though I am diligent about removing the seed pods, they are spreading fast and furiously because they also spread by underground rhizomes. Oops!

I am not complaining, they are beautiful and the bees are in loooove with them right now! Lupines are part of the legume family famous for being nitrogen fixers and soil improvers. They have a tendency to crowd out other native species so you do have to manage them. The variety we grow is Lupinus polyphyllus (I think) and because they are part of the legume family I was hoping they would become part of our edible and/or medicinal tool kit.

The trouble is that many varieties contain alkaloids that can be potentially toxic and when reading there are enough stories to make me uncertain/wary. I haven't been able to conclude the safety of the specific variety we have do we won't be eating them.

Of course, there is the Monty Python sketch about lupins

Male Peasant: She's bloody dying and all you bring us is lupins. All we've eaten mate for the last four bleeding weeks is lupin soup, roast lupin, steamed lupin, braised lupin in lupin sauce, lupin in the basket with sauted lupins, lupin meringue pie, lupin sorbet. We sit on lupins, we sleep in lupins, we feed the cat on lupins, we burn lupins, we even wear the bloody things!

Moore: Looks very smart.

Male Peasant: Oh shut up! We're sick to death with the stench of them. (sound of a miaow and then a bump) Look. The cat's just choked itself to death on them. (we see a dead cat with lupins coming out of its mouth) I don't care if I never see another lupin till the day I die! Why don't you go out and steal something useful!

If you know about lupines and the various uses for them I'd love to learn from you!

IMG_5728_01.jpg

IMG_5730_01.jpg

IMG_5725.jpg

Sort:  

You've been visited by @nateonsteemit from Homesteaders Co-op.

hahahah I guess I need to rewatch Monty Python, I don't remember that bit. We planted Russel's Hybrid this year and I'm waiting for it to pop. No luck yet, but that's okay. Not everything works. :)


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

I wanted to share a link to the sketch but it was impossible to find. We've had our share of things that haven't grown. Fruit trees have been a real struggle so thank goodness for berries! Sometimes the stuff we plant come up a year or two later though which is quite remarkable. I think that's why there is so much randomness in my garden. I keep planting and then all the things decide to make an appearance.

I've tried a couple varieties, but they always die, usually in 2 years. I'll have to find this one and try it. I love lupins but ....

I have LOTS of seeds (or will have in a month when they go to seed) if you want me to send some. Yes, they have a place but maybe not in the main ornamental garden.

I'd LOVE some! Thank you! It would be great to have some that actually did well. :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86