Caterpillar Transforms to ChrysalissteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago

Here is one of the swallowtail caterpillars that hatched out on my rue in my flowerbed. The rest of them crawled off and transformed into their chrysalis somewhere out of my eyesight!


IMG_0311.JPG


IMG_0312.JPG



Two views of the chrysalis.

IMG_0343.JPG


I've been lucky over the years to find a few where I could photograph them. I'm hoping to see this butterfly emerge from it's chrysalis or at least see it as after it emerges and is still drying its wings!


All photos by @violetmed on my using my Sony SX720 HS.

violetmed150.jpg

Sort:  

Amazing closeups! Hope you actually get to see it emerge! My husband and I found a luna moth caterpillar once trying to cross the road--we picked it up and put in the grass by a tree. I playfully said that when it becomes a moth it will come by and thank us. A few weeks later we did indeed see a luna moth resting on the exterior of our building. I'd never seen one before. I like to think it was the one we rescued :)

Thank you! What a great story! I would like to think that it was the luna moth you rescued also! :)

Fantastic! I'm leaving on vacation tomorrow, so brought my 2 Gulf Fritillary butterfly caterpillars to my neighbor to take care of until they become butterflies. They had been munching away happily on the passion vine cuttings in my butterfly tent. When I get back I hope to collect some monarch eggs from the milkweed and keep them safe in the tent until they mature into butterflies!

I love watching them as they dry their wings and then take flight. Hope you have a great vacation! Good luck with your caterpillars and butterflies.

Thanks! I have not been able to post yet, but am enjoying time with family! I noticed swarms of butterflies around my Dad's neighbor's buddleia bush, so will be getting out the big camera and macro lens soon!"

Wow, hope you post them on Steemit!

I will do that when I return to the States later on in September!

How wonderful!!!! Lucky you to see such beauty :) Love you friend!! SUNSHINE247

Thank you! Have a wonderful day!

@violetmed I am so excited for you! I hope you do catch it turning into a butterfly......it would be an awesome picture. Isn't nature wonderful? I am so amazed by its ability to go from caterpillar to chrysalis to butterfly. I love their brilliant colors and grace. Thank-you for sharing this wonderful event! :D

Thank you. I find the butterflies emerge soon after the sun comes up, so I will be checking each morning. It will probably be 7-10 days from when it transformed into a chrysalis.

Good-luck! :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by violetmed from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

beautiful pics...
thanks for sharing them ..
upvoted and followed...!!

Very interesting story and beautiful photos. Thanks for sharing.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16