Sow, Sow, Sow Your Seeds - then hurry up and wait

Snow or No Snow, I was in the mood to start some seeds this past weekend - here's a bit of what I got started!

hurry up, seeds!.jpg

Like many of y'all, I've got piles of seeds. Stuff from last year, new stuff that's just recently arrived, some stuff from over five years ago ... a little bit here and there that has been saved from existing plants over the last few years ... you know how it goes. So, I had to narrow down & focus on what I wanted to try to put into this 72 cell seed starting unit. Here's what I'm growing in one seed tray:

IMAG2284.jpg

Fenugreek is an annual with multiple uses.

The leaves can be dried and used as herbs, the seeds can be ground into a spice, and the plant matter itself can be used as a vegetable, like sprouts and microgreens. It can be used to treat wounds, inflammation, and helps in the fight against free radicals due to its antioxidant property. It is also good for improving the body’s overall metabolism and health. Irritated skin conditions can even be soothed by the external application of fenugreek - you can even use it against fevers and muscle aches. Definitely something I want to have growing in the garden!

Hyssop is a bushy, evergreen herb.

Hyssop is part of the mint family & goes well in salads, or in teas. Use the plant by cutting and drying everything above the ground. It can be used for digestive and intestinal problems, and a variety of respiratory problems including eliminating a cough, preventing colds and respiratory infections, and soothing sore throats. Hyssop has been hung in homes to provide protection from the evil eye, and has been grown in graves to protect the dead - what a powerful plant!

Marjoram is a perennial & is similar to oregano.

When used to make tea, marjoram can help improve your digestion by increasing your appetite and the production of digestive enzymes that help break down food. Marjoram is also often used for its antibacterial, antiviral and antifungal properties - it's good for your heart, and has anti-inflammatory benefits as well. Fun Fact: Aphrodite, the Greek goddess of love, was believed to wear wreaths made from marjoram!

Angelica is considered a biennial or short lived perennial.

Angelica is used for heartburn, intestinal gas, loss of appetite, arthritis, circulation problems, insomnia, joint pain, skin disorders. The young shoots are edible in salad with a sweet taste similar to celery. Their stems are sometimes preserved with sugar for a sweet edible treat, and roots are dried and preserved for usage in tea (fresh roots are allegedly poisonous).

Cumin is an annual and it's amazing.

THIS IS MY FAVOURITE SPICE. So, duh, I'm going to grow it. Cumin seeds are rich in protein and amino acids, carbohydrates, dietary fiber, and fatty acids. Cumin is amazing for digestive problems. Even sniffing ground up seeds will help to activate saliva production, which of course facilitates digestion of food. Cumin also helps to fight the common cold, treat asthma and/or bronchitis, prevent anemia, and is good for immunity & skin health.

Anise is an herbaceous annual plant.

Anise seed is used as a flavoring agent with a sweet, aromatic taste similar to licorice or fennel. It is commonly used in alcohols and liqueurs, and in desserts and baked goods. Anise can be used for upset stomach, insomnia, asthma, psoriasis, and as an expectorant. I will personally be using this as a minor player in teas and spice mixes, because I am no fan of the taste of licorice/anise (but I know it's good for me!)

keep in mind, nothing here is meant to be used as medical advice, because it's just the internet - go see your doctor if you have concerns!

IMAG2291.jpg
I also made sure to pick up two heating mats. I've heard so many people here rave about them, and one of the hardware stores here in town had them 50% off. Thinking ahead, if I'm happy with them, I'm sure I can find more during an end-of-season clearance sale or something.

IMAG2290.jpg

I found this idea for Baby Greens in a seed catalog, and wanted to give it a go with seeds I already had. I've got oodles and oodles of lettuce seeds in packages, and there was some I saved late in 2017. I got nothin' to lose!

IMAG2268.jpg

I also didn't put much effort into it.

The seeds went into a mix of coconut coir and seed starting medium, and the growing vessel is a re-used Costco spinach container. All of these contain seed that I had saved from a plant that flowered in the front yard - you can see that I didn't do the best job at clearing out the chaff (seed coverings & other stuff) but that's fine. It's my seed, and it's just organic matter back to the soil. Totally not here to impress anyone!!

IMAG2260.jpg

Here went some seeds from a packet

This Bon Vivant blend has never disappointed me, and the assortment of colours is so happy! They went into re-used containers, as well. Two were from last summer's microgreen purchase, and another one is a butter container or something. Sour cream? Whatever, it's holding some Baby Greens now - or at least will be soon!

IMAG2263.jpg
I also used a mix of coconut coir and seed starting mix for these. I probably could have gone a little thicker, but I'll see how it looks and adjust next time. That's one of the things I enjoy most about gardening - you can try again. Usually. As long as you have more seeds and time and space.

There you have it - some of what I've done!

Have y'all grown any of these herbs before, or clipped lettuce when they're teeny tiny to make Baby Greens?

Sort:  

You just planted 0.18 tree(s)!


Thanks to @skycae

We have planted already 5526.23 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20590.34
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Hyssop! Me too this year:)
Excellent how-to, I love this blog! Wicked idea for the microgreens, I am totally excited to follow that progress. Great reuse of containers...I am getting really excited for your garden this year haha!!! <3 <3 <3

i attempted hyssop straight into the soil last spring & nothing happened, so i have big dreams for her this year.

thank you! i'm excited too, and i double love re-learning about these herbs.

💚💚

My angelica is starting to sprout here and I have never grown this before so I'm super anxious to try it later.

Fenugreek is one I have yet to sow.

And marjoram! Oh yes! I love this in my herbal teas.

Looks like you have quite the start to your gardening season so far. can't wait to see all the updates coming.

Snow? Yeah... one of those weather people mentioned that nasty word for us this coming weekend. Sad thing is... it's 57-degrees here today. What gives Ma Nature!

the fenugreek has already started to come up! it's been three days!! these heat mats make a huge difference, wow!

i feel bad for mama nature. she's has a rough decade 😢

cheer to new and exciting plants in the garden! good luck and i am so excited to see where we all are in, like, three months.

You got a 42.86% upvote from @greengrowth thanks to @twinislandflames! You too can use @GreenGrowth by sending your post URL in the memo field to the bot. Minimum bid is 0.01.

If you feel this post is spammy or not worthy of @Greengrowth you can contact a moderator in our Discord Channel https://discord.gg/6DhnVTQ.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65355.38
ETH 2656.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87