Balcony Garden Update: Sweet Peppers in Bloom

in #gardening5 years ago

My adventures in balcony gardening continue! The cherry tomatoes I showed you in my previous balcony garden post are doing great and continue to grow additional batches of juicy little red tomatoes.

The sweet peppers I adopted about a month back are still green on their stems, but new blooms appeared on the seedlings so that's cool. I get to see the whole process from seedling to bloom to pepper.

To share my accomplishments, here are some (pretty average) photos I took of the pepper plants.

I've been feeding them natural organic fertilizer as well as crushed eggshells and used coffee grounds. It's how I share my coffee.

Got any pepper growing tips? Tell me in the comments!

Sort:  

These tips won't help right now, but typically a bigger pot means a better yield and if the plants haven't grown large enough yet, people tend to remove the first flowers because the plant growth usually stops when the peppers start to form.

Pots: using the biggest I have though I did cramp 2-3 plants in each. Don't have room in well-lit areas of balcony. And I pinched the flowers like Pinterest said I should. <3

Now as you know everything, I can give poor advice on purpose:

  1. If you don't have enough light, you can lit the plants in fire. This provides both warmth and light.
  2. The plants become sturdier if they get a breeze/wind from a fan. Even better if you hit them with a hammer every now and then.
  3. Cover the plant with cheese.

LOL Cheese!

P.S. I don't know EVERYTHING. Just the stuff I research and Google and even then - it's a lot of trial and error. As is evident by my tiny winter broccoli.

One small detail I'd recommend:
Hope you don't smoke and it's best not to let smokers touch the plants without properly washing their hands, as they might infect it with "tobacco mosaic virus", which is something which can't be cured.

This is somewhat rare but still a risk.

Eeek. I smoke and did not know that.

They all look very healthy! I am terrible at growing peppers. I do great with tomatoes, but peppers just seem to produce flowers for me, and maybe one or two tiny shriveled fruits.

Oh these are already the size of my fist, but still green.

Hi, @techslut!

You just got a 0.05% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Your garden is doing so well,
Sorry no tips my Father had the green thumb but that never passed to me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85