Sort:  

So this year and last, I planted my potatoes in mounds as deep as I could bury them honestly.. which was 4 to 6 inches deep. Last year, before planting, I cut my seed potatoes into sections, each with their own chits, let them sit and dry for a week before planting with the chits up.

Potatoes have a top and bottom, which can be researched quickly if you hadn't known that. So planting orientation is important.

This year I was lazy and planted whole seed potatoes, chits up, in the mounds. Not sure what will vary in terms of production, since last year I hauled in a whole lot of potatoes with the cut method.

Iv also read that store bought potatoes meant to be eaten, not planted, will have a tough time growing if you decide to plant them, due to the waxy spray they coat them with... but I did just that last year and had a huge harvest from them. I used "seed potatoes" and store bought "food" potatoes.. both had all come thru in about 2-3 weeks.

I believe the timing is dependent upon warmth of soil, moisture of soil, and the progress of the potato itself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62581.77
ETH 2546.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75