Where Do The Colors In Butterfly Wings Come From?

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

_1020604 (2).JPG

I did a little experiment! :-D

Last night, I went to the supermarket and I bought some fruits. I cut the fruit into pieces, and I walked to the park and left the fruits sitting in the park.

This morning what a surprise I found these beautiful butterflies eating the fruit! :-D

What a happy feeling to know that they love my experiment!

And I was wondering? Where do the colorful wings of the butterflies come from?

_1020624 (2).JPG

The colorful patterns of the butterfly wings are made up thousands of tiny overlapping scales.

The amazing colors are produced in a couple of different ways, through different chemical pigments within the scales which absorb or reflect different colors of light.

Butterfly wing scales contain various chemicals pigments which absorb certain wavelengths of light and reflect what is left, giving most butterflies their beautiful and unique color patterns.

_1020669 (2).JPG

The most brilliant colors, however, are produced by scales shaped to allow light to bounce off minute films and ridges in the scale surface. This type of scale can produce breathtaking flashes of colors or an iridescent effect as the butterfly spreads its wings to fly.

_1020669.JPG

One thing is for sure, magnified under the power of a good light, butterflies love the power light of our star the Sun!

If we have the opportunity to admire each wing through a microscope, I can say each butterfly is truly a work of God's art.

In most part of the United States and the world, you can find a different type of species of beautiful butterflies near your home. You can do the same experiment that I did and you will love it! :D

Butterflies normally are active during the daytime as I said before they love the warm days and the light of the Sun, while another species are active at night.

Something very curious is that the butterflies can savor meals with their feet as you can see in the photos I took today!

Well, I am working finish producing beautiful videos I will post in a few minutes.

Butterfly a perfect muse for photography, a glory, and beauty to adorn our beautiful world! :D

_1020668.JPG

I wish you a successful day full of light and peace.

Much love,

All original content and photos are created by @supernova55 :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77