Zinnias are super easy to grow, beautiful AND EDIBLE!!

in #gardening6 years ago

P1010283.jpg

Zinnias are one of my favorite flowers to grow!

They are big and colorful.
They are super easy to grow!

Also, it is super easy to collect seeds from them for future plantings!

Did you know that zinnias are also edible?!
I didn't, until recently...

You can use the petals in salads, tacos, cakes, whatever! They say you can eat the whole head, but people usually just use the petal. It is supposed to be a little bitter tasting.
I have never tried them, but I may just have to this summer!!

Growing them is simple!
You can direct sow them into the garden after the danger of frost has past, or start them inside and transplant them.
Plant them about a quarter inch deep and lightly cover with soil.

P1010274.jpg

Water them in gently, and they should germinate in about a week.
They like to be in a mostly sunny area, and like to be watered regularly, but not kept waterlogged.

P1010279.jpg

  • If your zinnias grow tall and start getting floppy, you can stake them up
  • deadhead your plants regularly to keep them pretty and blooming
  • for bushier plants, pinch an inch or so from the stems while the plants are young
  • applying fertilizer mid season will help them keep blooming and going strong

P1010272.jpg

Zinnias are a great flower for beginning gardeners, or pretty much anyone who likes growing things.
Not to mention, the bees, butterflies, and hummingbirds love them!

Give it a try! Grow some zinnias this spring!!

P1010288.jpg

Homesteaders Online

Sort:  

You are one after my own heart! I love zinnias, and I grow them in pots! I can attest that they are easy to grow, collecting dead heads, and regrow next year, even for a person who doesn't have green thumb like me.

What I didn't know is that they are edible! Oh mine, how wonderful is that? :-) These are super gorgeous shot, btw!

Thank you!!
Ill have to try some in pots here soon! I need to plant something!
Haha I do not have much of a green thumb either!
Zinnias are pretty fool-proof though. Although I have to say, chickens can destroy them...
(I know from experience...)
I think I will try to eat some this coming year, in salads maybe!

(Im sorry, my upvote doesnt have much power right now! I need to quit upvoting for a while and get it back up! I just keep seeing great posts and comments!)

I was on stage one night with my band. Every night the "flower guy" would come in and sell roses at $2 a pop. In the day, that was a quick way to seal a pick up. One drunk patron came to the stage to proclaim his love for the girl of the night. Our bass player asked the fellow if he new the roses were edible. He said he didn't and pushed it into the bass players face. He bent his head right over and ate the man's flower right off the stem. I thought the fellow was gonna cry. "He ate my flower?!" Our bass player washed it down with a swig of Jack Daniels and went right on into the next song.

Hahahahahaha Oh my goodness!!
LOL
Sounds hilarious!

Haha i believe it!
😂

Zinnias are a favorite of mine, too, although I tend to forget to plant them!

I know what you mean! It's hard to remember everything...

These are one of my favorite garden flowers. I had no idea you could eat them. I'm going to have to try that!

I only just found that out myself! I am looking forward to trying it out this year!

i could totally see myself growing a container of these in the house, over the winter, to add to food for a little bit of extra happiness. thanks for the tip - i've eaten lots of flowers, but never these!

It would be like keeping a little jar of spring around to warm you up in winter, lovely.

it's like having mint or basil. pinch off a leaf every once and a while just to SMELL it. rub it all over your hands, into your wrists. who cares what anyone else says?!

What a great idea! I may have to try this myself... I am itching to plant SOMETHING and a pot of zinnias would be so pretty!
Off to check my seed stash and see if I still have some! :D

did you find any? were there some there? was there SOMETHING ELSE?!

THERE ARE ZINNIA SEEDS IN THERE!!!
And herbs and peppers and tomatos and a whole lot of other things...
All the seeds are at least 2 years old though, some older, so we shall see how well they grow. I dont have high expectations, but hopefully some will sprout!

And yes, there was something else... old, stiff, pancakes! Snacks for the chickens, I guess... LOL

sounds like a winner winner chicken dinner kind of situation! LOL :)

Absolutely! Haha!

Very excited about this information! I am definitely down to eat flowers.

Me too! Cant wait to try it! What a pretty salad that would make!

Experimenting with more flowers this spring, thanks for putting Zinnias on my to-grow list!

~ Kevin

Haha no prob! Its on my list too!
(It grows longer each day with all the new plants I am finding out about!)

You and my both my friend. Mine is [every plant in existence] long

Hahaha so true!!
I think our lists are about the same then... ;)

Thank you for contributing your knowledge to help others! Sotall.org Knowledge Directory of Steemit Posts has linked to this post. You can see your link here.

Thanks! Love it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88