1 Garden Bed = Tomatoes, Lettuce, Thai Basil, Eggplant, Ground Cherries, Squash, Carrots and Lambsquarters

in #gardening6 years ago

Earlier in spring I decided in a spur of the moment decision that I wanted to try growing seed for a seed company.

I was interested to learn more about the industry and gain firsthand experience producing seed. Southern Oregon is somewhat of a mecca for small, sustainable organic seed producers. I feel lucky to be immersed in this organic culture of slow food and seeds. And I am fortunate - one company decided to take me on and offer seed contracts for growing out lettuce and tomato seeds!

Come check out how I set up this garden bed for farming seeds, nestled alongside our own veggies.

summer-garden-2.jpg


This is what the veggie bed looked like several weeks ago

It's hard to tell from this view but there are 7 types of veggies in there. The summer squash are bookends on both sides of the bed.

IMG_20180723_193652.jpg

And here it is this week

The lettuce is bolting!

IMG_20180818_200217.jpg

The lettuce is starting to blossom and soon it will make seed. Then the seed will be collected and the tall lettuce plants will be removed, making room for the tomato plants which are coming up fast and strong right behind the lettuce.

IMG_20180819_174601.jpg

In front of the tomatoes you can see our pepper plants getting big and strong.

IMG_20180818_200306.jpg


Tomatoes

These tomatoes are called Ashland Tomatoes. I have yet to taste one, but they are ripening nicely and already looking quite attractive!

summer-garden-2.jpg

The nice thing about growing seed is that you can eat the food you are growing seed for, as long as your seed is not the food itself. It's a win-win. As I save seed from the tomatoes I will use the flesh to make sauce, sun dried tomatoes, salsa and more.

IMG_20180819_174118.jpg

The tomatoes are being trellised up some old 8 foot fencing that was lying around. I am sucker pruning them which allows me to grow them very close together at 6-10" rather than the standard 3 feet. That's great use of vertical space and getting more production out of a veggie bed.

summer-garden-1.jpg

Romaine Lettuce

This is Sparx lettuce, a Romaine variety. I am not a huge lettuce person but I really enjoy this Romaine. It's been tolerable to heat and doesn't get overly bitter even as it begins to bolt.

summer-garden-meal-23.jpg

I am starting small in growing seeds for this company and professionally in general so I am only growing a few packets of each this year. This one garden bed suffices for both of these seed contracts.

I am keeping track of each seed lot and since there are two lots of each, I planted two rows of lettuce and two rows of tomatoes.

IMG_20180720_202158.jpg

This bed is quite wide and that still gives me plenty of space in the middle and on both sides to grow more food!

IMG_20180720_202152.jpg

I setup some old wire fence as tomato trellis... it wasn't a straight line. I planted on the curves... don't those lettuce rows look nice?

Peruvian Ground Cherries

I meant to plant more eggplants and less ground cherries in this bed. But my eggplant seeds were old and I didn't get as many germinating and I got a lot of ground cherries, so I planted a LOT of ground cherries

This is my first time growing ground cherries. It is not what I would consider a staple food because they are so small (compared to a tomato or tomatillo) and take time to pick and process. But they are tasty and I am impressed with how strong and versatile the plant is - able to grow as a ground cover or climb up and through other plants. I like the fruits enough to want to grow it again.

IMG_20180723_200313.jpg

In some places, the ground cherries grew so aggressively that they started to shade out the peppers.

IMG_20180819_174056.jpg

So I chopped them back, gave more mulch to the soil, and the peppers are happy!

summer-garden-3.jpg

Eggplant

Can you see the eggplants in front of the tomatoes and behind the peppers?

IMG_20180818_200556.jpg

Here is a closer look. The eggplants like to take their time. They are slower to find their pace than the tomatoes and peppers. But now they are taking shape and soon will become large and abundant!

IMG_20180819_173831.jpg

In fact they are starting to fruit and the eggplant harvest is nearly upon us :)

IMG_20180819_173752.jpg

Thai Basil

It is so fun to have a row of Thai Basil planted out because we love basil and we love Thai Basil!

We have been enjoying large harvests just from pruning the tops off the plants. The pruning of the tops and flowers helps to prevent the plant from going to seed too soon and helps it take on a bushier leafier shape... perfect for harvesting more basil leaves :)

IMG_20180818_200405.jpg

These Thai Basil plants are growing underneath and just in front of the tomato vines. They are doing well so far at the feet of the tomatoes and as the tomatoes grow up (since I am sucker pruning for now) and when the lettuce is pulled out more light will shine on the basil, perfect timing as the days shorten.

IMG_20180819_174404.jpg

Here you can see from above some Thai Basils tucked between the peppers and the tomatoes. They are quite happy with their friends so far :)

Padron Peppers

The Padron is one of our favorite peppers, especially when it comes to roasting peppers, and so we are growing out a bunch of them!

Even though we are growing over a half dozen kinds of peppers this year, the Padrons are our biggest planting.

summer-garden-4.jpg

The peppers start out small and few. We'll see if we can keep up with the harvest as they become more prolific. If they get large they become too spicy to be a roasting pepper (for our taste) and graduate into a hot sauce pepper.

IMG_20180819_174029.jpg

This Padron got planted a little too close to the tomatoes so it reaches out. But no matter... it is still so happy and growing large, albeit at an angle ;)

IMG_20180819_174228.jpg

Here is a row of Padron peppers. Behind them are the basil and behind those are the tomatoes.

Summer Squash

3-4 summer squash plants are bookmarking each end of this garden bed.

IMG_20180818_200422.jpg

We are enjoying trying this round zucchini variety which doesn't get quite as large as the traditional long zucchinis. It is a nice "meal" size for a couple.

summer-garden-meal-10.jpg

Like other zucchinis and most squash, these bushes are producing well and often. (sorry I don't have a photo of a larger round zucchini on the bush at the moment.. but these young zucchinis are also delectable)

Carrots

Originally left clear for a foot path, I later decided to plant the aisle down the middle of the two rows of lettuce with carrots

IMG_20180818_200440.jpg

They were planted later so they started coming in a little later than the other plants, which is just fine because they will be good timing for winter/early spring carrots.

I have a lot of carrot seeds collected from friends farms over the last two years so I didn't bother to buy any carrot seeds this year... and I couldn't tell you what kind they are... but they will be delicious :)

Lambsquarters - A Wild Crop in the Mix

I love lambsquarters and didn't pull those out when I weeded other more aggressive plants. I enjoyed that they provided some extra shade and companionship to the veggie seedlings.

IMG_20180720_202228.jpg

As the season progresses the lambsquarter grows up taller and begins to form seedheads - and drops their leaves at the same time as the veggies I planted start to grow larger. I get a seed crop from the lambsquarters for food and it doesn't provide much light competition for my veggies :)

IMG_20180818_200556.jpg

Thanks for visiting this garden bed with us!

We will be sure to update you as these crops progress. If you are curious, we can share more of our garden beds in detail like I did in this post :)

summer-garden-1.jpg

Sort:  

Are you also experiencing the ash haze in the air from the forest fires in the North?

Wonderful garden. Those peppers looking so strong, that is something to be proud of.

Yes there is a lot of smoke lately. Ever since a few days after july 4th. Luckily where I live it is not as bad as other areas,.. this last week has been a lot better though!

Gorgeous garden beds!! I love seeing the non-conventional "rows" and companion planting! It makes my heart so happy 😁 i've never heard of or tasted ground cherries before. Sounds yummy! Love seeing your gardens and hearing your processes! Please keep sharing!

Yay thank you @yogajill! OK I am inspired to share more and more! I just need to find the time now :)

Oh goodness! 😍😍

How absolutely beautiful!

Thanks Nate!

Cool. I've made 3 beds only for zucchinis this year

IMAG2783.jpg

DSC_0461.jpg

Nice zucc beds! Thanks for sharing the photos... Wow so many blossoms :) I love that you are heavily mulching :)

Yes, we got many zucchini this year

@sagescrub You have received a 100% upvote from @steemguard because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

This is really big Garden of vegetables.
you work hard for maintain this garden.
Beautiful photographs friend.

So kind of you to share these compliments. Thank you @tussar11 :)

You are welcome dear friend..

Wow so much food!
Great post.
Lovely pictures to

Wow - what a glorious and inspiring post! Funny this is that almost everything in your bed grows happily here in Thailand. We LOVE those peruvian ground cherries - super yum in an avocado salad. My rain-drenched-almost-flooded-monsoonal garden is not diggable for another month, but I am starting to sow seeds in pots out of the rain to get a jump when the flooding stops. Inspired and thank-full. :)

That is so great! I am really starting to like these ground cherries. The flavor is so amazing! It's like tomatillo + citrus flavor.. really unique. They do take a long time to gather a lot though! How coincidental, this spring I had to wait to plant because the clay soil here was so drenched with water. Once we had the first hot, clear dry week I was out there flipping the soil to dry out! I now believe in raised beds in this climate for that reason. Good luck with your panting preparation!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Wow thank you @c-squared! I really appreciate it :)

@sagescrub it is good to have own organic farming. The veggies looks good. I do take interest and have some on my terrace....

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94