You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Chart of Incompatible Plants

in #gardening7 years ago

One reason can of course be the pH, but it's also about different chemicals they omit to the soil and the earth.

On the other side of the coin there's a lot of positive combinations! Your thought about the onions protecting the radish wasn't too far fetched - it works with carrots :)
Instead of worrying about incompatibilities, maybe you could try planning your beets with beneficial combinations. There's loads of different pests and deseases which can be kept out just by choosing a good neigborhood. Search for intercropping and mixed cultivation.

Sort:  

@pharesim so I take it - that is based on experience?
having seen the Swiss chard next to Juka on one of your old post?
Thank you for sharing that!

When I get the chance to work a garden I take it, but my experience is limited to a couple of seasons.

Last time I got a book about organic gardening before and used some of the techniques described there, intercropping being one. I can't say if it helped, but it didn't hurt and I did not use pesticides or mineral fertilizers.

@pharesim I see - i'm into organic gardening, too
a great know how is really essential specially in this zone!
we had the same zone - but then you moved far away - I guess it would be easier there now - having the sun all the time!

But it's hard with water. I didn't figure out yet if they use the chlorinated stuff here, or how it is done :D

@pharesim oh that part - how about rain water? We have a rain water tank - oh but then it's mostly sunny there. I forgot about the water. YES they put chlorine indeed - I think only in our zone in the EU - don't do that so we could drink fresh water straight from the tap. However, coals could filter that so put coal filters in your tap - there's that - we brought one when we stayed in Calpe for 2 weeks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59148.41
ETH 2526.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48