You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fall Gardening - Preparing for 'KimJang'

in #gardening4 years ago

Beautiful garden!
Really your neighbors complain about bugs on YOUR plants? Would that make them more difficult to control with pesticides on theirs?
I hope you do own your own land someday so that you can garden the way you want to.

Sort:  

I also want to garden how I want. Owning my own land is key.

If people see pests on my plants they will ask me if I'm raising food or bugs. They don't mind the good ones that only attack other insects, but slugs and caterpillars are bad. They won't invite me back if I don't take care of my garden because it will contaminate theirs, weeds, pests, flooding and mould are a huge no-no. You gotta get rid of the plant or the problem. They are fine with pesticide contamination.

People often think of killing bugs as similar to WW1 era gas attacks. That's not how they work. The way modern pesticides work is similar to immunization. If you are feeding the bugs there will be more bugs around to try and eat their plants too.

This is why good organic farms are often clustered together and an entire area will go organic with buffer zones, etc. There is no such thing as going organic when someone 1m away from you isn't being organic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17