More plants from mom: two buggy orchids

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

wooly aphids.jpg

My mother said: there's something wrong with my orchids, I give up on them, do you want them? These are Phalaenopsis orchids and I have some others that were successful rescue projects so I know that they are tough and apart from the massive infestation of wooly aphids, the plants weren't too unhealthy so I said "Sure!".

All plants become vulnerable to pests when they are subjected to environmental stress so although most orchid growers recommend getting rid of plants in this condition, on the grounds that the bugs are too difficult to get rid of, I think a thorough cleanup together with a change of growing conditions can be successful.

ants.jpg

One pot even had an ant nest in it and although ants are notorious companions to aphids because they farm them - aphids secrete honeydew, which the ants crave, these ants were even incubating their pupae in the pot, which tells me that the pot is nice and warm and dry, not an ideal condition for phalaenopsis orchid roots.

The orchid in the ant-infested pot was quite pale but the other showed clear signs of sunburn. Phalaenopsis orchids do well in low-light conditions and should never be in direct sunlight.

sunburn.jpg

So there were some very clear reasons for the them to be completely infested with aphids and it was time to get out the Mercaptothion spray, clean up the leaves, paying close attention to all the cracks and crevices

infestation.jpg

get rid of the potting medium, spray the roots, cutting off any dead roots

clean roots.jpg

and repot in fresh bark chips. This is an bark orchid mix and although some people grow in sphagnum and other substrates, I use bark because it's the only growing medium that's easy to get here.

new bark.jpg

I'm feeling confident that I can beat this infestation because the plants are in pretty good condition besides the aphid infestation and I expect them to be more pest-resistant in a cooler environment without direct sunlight and more frequent watering. One plant has a flower stalk with active buds and the other is showing signs of new leaves

new leaf.jpg

Sort:  

Oh, these ants ...
Fortunately, my orchids didn’t!
I think that you can easily cope with this, good luck!
But I would still 6 days after using the spray, I would wash this orchid with FAIRY soapy solution.
This is my opinion, with which you can disagree :-))

Darn aphids always infesting everything. They got my hibiscus last year.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, they are always waiting to take advantage of struggling plants

Yes, they are always
Waiting to take advantage
Of struggling plants

                 - nikv


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I'm rescuing some plants for a neighbour. I'll take a photo because I need your help identifying them. It's just a repotting job.

Go for it!

Very nice job! You are really a plant doctor!

This is the easy part: I'll only consider myself a plant doctor if I can get them to flower

You are like a plant Doctor without band-aids :-)

Just give me bug-spray ;)

Que lindo rescate. A veces es preferible hacer esa sanación. Da sensación reconfortante saber que la planta se animó. Y luego la recompensa, sus hojas o flores.

Yes, I can't see the point of throwing living plants in the bin

Outch!! Those were really badly attacked!

I just remembered I was watching some orchid grower vids and he prepares a bleach solution (diluted in water) in a big bucket and soaks the sick orchids in it for a while, then rinses, dry and plant.
It kills fungi and all kinds of bugs. I have never done it, but he claims it is the only thing he does for years and he has a nice orchid green house... so I guess it works.

Bleach will definitely kill fungi although I'm not sure of bugs and I may may have to test that next time if there's any recurrence of these pests

You understand the plants well. Together you win :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17