A/C Garden Progress

in #gardening6 years ago

Yesterday was a slow day. I broke my 24 hour fast with some sausage, eggs, tomato, and an avocado. YUM.

We got out in the yard and cleaned up a bit in the evening. The kids picked up trash, Melissa swept the patio, and I started on the air conditioner garden project. First stages are very not fancy, but it's started.

The idea is to use the condensation drip from our air conditioner to make a small garden that won't need watering in this harsh Texas heat.

Here's the start:

I've been collecting avocado seeds. I have recently acquired a new love for avocados thanks to my cousin, so I've got seeds. I also picked up a potted basil and mint plant from the store. They were $3.

IMG_20180702_182805284.jpg

We used a cardboard box for our pot. This one, like the one for the squash, was gifted to us by a neighbor by way of the wind. Eventually we'll move it all to ceramic pots. Cardboard doesn't do too well when wet.

IMG_20180702_182937690.jpg

Compost!
This batch of compost isn't coming along quite as well as the first batch. It's more dry. I think that's on account of it being in a smaller box. I dug out the best bits for this job :)

IMG_20180702_183513654.jpg

We filled it with some potting soil on top. It's made of mostly peat and compost, with a little fertilizer. The soil was left here from the previous owners.

Next, I took the little pots the herbs were in and put in the best yard soil I could find. Lots of good stuff from the best part of the yard. Lots of organic matter in it like we used in the bottom of the squash box. I used this for two of the three avocado seeds. The other one got planted between the mint and basil.

IMG_20180702_184422911.jpg

That's the start! The container lid will help collect and direct the water over to the garden.

IMG_20180702_184528565.jpg

I poured some water from the catchment onto the top to wet the soil, and the experiment is started! WOO! If it works, I'm going to try again with the tiny tim tomatoes.

More posts to come! I've decided that in order to maximize my posting for the #minnowuprising, I should keep the posts to one topic. If y'all havent read about the uprising yet, go check out @taskmaster4450's page. He outlines a plan to reallocate the blockchain to the little guys, like it was meant to be. One of his suggestions is to post multiple times a day. I'm going to try to do so while keeping my posts relevant. Obviously, if I'm out of things to post about, I'm not gonna go shitposting to take advantage of this system. That's not the point. Go check out his page and his multiple posts on the uprising. He even has graphs and math and stuff to help monitor progress too.

Stay relevant y'all

Nate

Sort:  

Thats a great idea for the AC garden! Simple, yet brilliant. I need to start composting too. Ive been reading about permaculture lately and thinking of ways to incorporate that with the aquaponics system. I was thinking about ways to keep and raise bugs to feed the fish. I believe it was you that gave me that idea actually. Thanks!

Gotta love those avocados! Keep it up man, and stay cool out there.

Trying. It's super hot lol

Look into raising crickets. I know a lot of people did it from back when I had tarantulas. Folks with a large collection would have cricket colonies in totes. Not sure what kind of fish youre wanting, but I imagine crickets would be good for larger fish like koi.

Steem is a good place to learn about permaculture. Theres a ton of folks here that have really badass setups. I recommend @elfmyselfandi and @brockolopolis. They have a badass piece of land they're working on turning into a permaculture eden. They post about their projects and progress often :)

Thanks, I'll check them out.

We are looking to get going with a red worm farm, for feed for both our future chickens and aquaponics. And of course the worm poop is basically gold in the form of fertalizer.

@nateonsteemit i again am so green with envy! No way could we grow avocado here.. But for decoration. And theyre anywhere from $1.5o a piece here. Nice. Real real nice.

I've been told that I'm too far north to grow them actually. Supposedly you want to be no farther north than San Antonio. That's like five hours south of us, so idk what's gonna happen... But I'm gonna try it.

Story of my life. Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65355.38
ETH 2656.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87