The First Fruits of My Container Garden - 2018.... You Are Invited To Have A Look!

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

20180619_153519.jpg

Hi there!

Today, I ´m sharing about something green...yes, the green stuff of my container garden. For me, gardening even if it´s just in containers, is also a fulfillment of a hobby particularly if you live in the city where space is so rare.

The heat on the top terrace is really unbearable, that is why I converted it into my container garden. Even if the shades were installed, you can never enjoy to stay there because of the freakin heat wave. It´s been about five years now that this area became an oasis for my container plants. The first potted vegetable was a squash in a huge wooden container, I was amazed how big it had been. Since the space is limited, the 2nd squash grew with confidence on top of the pine hedge and weighed to be around 11 kilos.. It was so heavy that I thought it would damage the pine tree because of the weight. At any rate, it was not a problem at all.

There are two potted bell peppers and one as you can see is another variety that quickly grows and now has those huge green peppers. It has 6 fruits at the moments but the rest are still small. The other one is just beginning to have flowers and since it is very hot, I think the flowers will soon develop into peppers. As far as I can remember, the 2nd one will have long and elongated red paprika variety.

20180619_152815.jpg

This season, I planted the same vegetables just like last year... The green beans were sown from seeds and they are bearing so many green strings at the moment. I have sown 2 kinds of cuke seeds...the shorter one and the long one. The 3 long ones are now growing nicely in the garden and also in pots... Til now, they are not visited by the slugs, thank Go, perhaps because their vine is a bit rough and I spread brewed coffee on the top of the soil.

20180619_153110.jpg

Also this season, I tried another variety of tomato called the "beefsteak tomato" which is called ochsenherz tomaten in german which literally means the bull´s heart tomato. It´s shape is like a heart and when they become big they look like huge ribbed tomatoes as in the images below that I took in a supermarket. And mind you they are very expensive probably because not much farmers are growing them. This is the type used in burgers because with just one slice it covers the whole bun.

20180614_083457.jpg
Beefsteak tomatoes

This time from the four tomato newbies I got, I only have one cherry tomatoes. The second one had been erroneously labeled as cherry tomaten when if fact it is a beefsteak tomato. At any rate , all are growing nicely.

20180614_083446.jpg

20180615_080604.jpg
Cherry or cocktail tomatoes

20180613_181932.jpg
Green Beans

20180606_081827.jpg
Potted raspberries

20180503_151206.jpg
Brewed coffee and tea as fertilizer

I recycle our daily brewed coffee and tea and use them as fertilizer for my vegetable, they are good source of nitrogen and gives a bit of acidity to the soil. Brewed coffee can also act as deterrent for slugs. Although, it´s hard for slugs to visit my potted veggies onthe terrace because it´s on a higher level, sometimes it´s unavoidable if newbie plants from the garden center have already been infested with those tiny eggs not visible to our eyes.

20180605_074344.jpg
Aubergine (eggplant) starts to flower now

20180613_181903.jpg

I hope to have a wonderful harvest this season...and am keeping my fingers crossed!

Content and images on this post are original and are properties of the author. If you would like to use any of the photos from this post, please give source credits by linking the URL of this post in your content.

Footer.gif

Special thanks to @gremayo for the GIF

Sort:  

Wow fresh vegies! Love it especially the bell paper.

Thank you... I hope some more will come.. I saw 4 more flowers that are now growing to be a pepper... am excited now.

Whatta wonderful produce, coffee and tea as organic fertilizers are so safe, congrats!

Thankies ...indeed, wag lang sobrahan because of its acidity... may pinipili din syang plants.

Wow naman! You have tomatos as big as your palm @mers. Those string beans and bell peppers are also nice for veggie lumpia. I wish I can plant raspberries here too. Quality time is what you have to have accomplished such good produce. Keep it up dear!

Thank you Glo.. try your garden center or in the web..pag aralan mo lang if puede raspberries sa tropical climate.. we buy this here in pots..

Bali yong tea mismo at cofee ihalo sa lupa?
Yong lupa kasi sa garden.ngayon dito dko alam ano gagawin dahil hi di na tumataba ang gulay ma tinatanim ko simula noong akoy naoperahan sa mata.

Yes ganyan nga Deev .. but put only once ihalo sa lupa. Hindi palagi kasi it only adds acidity to the soil.. maganda siya sa mga bulaklak gaya ng azalea, rhododendron yung mga tanim na ang soil ay sandy. but as for vegetables better get a fertilizer special for fruit bearing plants.. or meron din liquid na haluin sa pangdilig sa vegetable.

Salamat maam @mers sa information..
Hanga ako sa lahat na post mo

The beefsteak tomato that you said parang yan yung pinapatong ng nanay ko sa painin na sinaing at nagaya ko n rin masarap cya juicy gid kaayo

Your posts help me a lot

Omg, raspberries 😍
Lahat na yata Mers nasa garden mo na.
It's really nice to have freshly pick fruits and veges.

Enjoy your harvest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13